We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review - a bit un-ideal for the price tag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central

Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central to your Saves list
Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central
3-8-5 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Honest Review - a bit un-ideal for the price tag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Place is okay, a bit of downfalls worth mentioning before you book:

- can be very, very loud as the complex is surrounded by late-night bars, restaurants and clubs.
- since most if not over 50% of the apartments face or are over looking restaurants. Therefore your place will smell everyday. The smells gets old and gross quite fast
- some other places faces the AC machines of neighboring building, therefore your place will be constantly loud, and have a damp, constant scent.
- gym is very small, and often not cleaned. People come and go using machines but not one keeps it clean.
- garbage room is gross as us the entire second floor. The floor smells badly!
- there is a weekly cleaning service, but the cleaning people do a very bad job. They don't really "clean" your place as much as making it look nice on the surface. I can tell that they never fully vacuum, never fully clean the counter tops, tables and what one would expect from a cleaning service.
- the neighborhood is loud, fast, and insane on weekends.
- building is down an alley which makes the place seem a bit unsafe esp in the evenings.

There are other Oakwoods worth your high rent price.

Again, this place is OK, but I could never stay here again, and have friends who have stayed here and share the same negative reviews.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I agree with the last reviewer. Stayed here for a month. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Clean, well equipped apartment with a western style supermarket just a 2 minute walk away. Close to the subway. Recommended but can't comment on value because my company paid.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Had an excellent stay here while looking for an apartment to rent in Tokyo. The beds are large and comfortable while the rooms themselves are equipped with everything needed to live. There is internet access in every room and TV shows English language movies and sport. For the non-Japanese speakers, there are instruction books and stickers showing how everything works including washing machine/dryer, oven and of course the amazingly overcomplicated toilet (fear not!!). The staff were always pleasant and helpful and if you are lucky you'll catch an event or two for the guests while you stay to make friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at the Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central in July 2008 (tripadvisor won't let me select this in the drop-down list so sorry about any confusion; I had written a lengthy review back in 2008 but there was some sort of glitch and it disappeared). We were visiting Japan from Australia for a few weeks for work, but were also there as a family: two adults and one teenager. This hotel is attractive and comfortable, very well located, safe, private and self-contained. This meant that we could store and prepare food ourselves without always having to go out to eat - which gave us flexibility and also saved us money. In our one-bedroom apartment we had a study space that could be closed with a sliding door and we had that set up with a bed for our daughter, which worked very well, especially as the adult bedroom was at the other end of the apartment. I'd read about this type of apartment/room on tripadvisor before we booked and so specially requested it. Thankyou to previous reviewers, and I hope this in turn is helpful to others. I would imagine this hotel is still fantastic and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're a family, ask especially for a one bedroom apartment with separate study that can be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

GOOD: Customer Service (they speak English and are very pleasant); Large 1-bedroom apartment (800 sq.ft); Location (a 2-minute walk to the subway, grocery store, pubs, restaurants—including Hard Rock Café, TGIFriday’s, and Outback Steakhouse); Clean (entire facility is very clean—like a Hilton Hotel!); Amenities (apartment includes all furnishing, including small quantity of food in apartment, free internet, hair dryer, iron, room safe, laundry soap—everything you need is there). Views: My apartment balcony has a great view of Tokyo Tower!

DIRECTIONS: Building is on a side street, about 50 meters away from the main street (Roppongi Dori), so there is much less noise. Give the Taxi driver the address, and he can find it. Some critics say it is a “dodgy area”. I do not think it is dodgy, and this area is quiet and anyone would feel safe. Roppongi Crossing (2-minute walk) is more busy and crowded.

GROCERIES: Marche Roppongi (a grocery store) is just outside subway exit 3 (near Outback Steakhouse). The store offers everything you need, and the location is convenient, so you can pickup groceries on your way to the apartment. Also, there is a small liquor store along the way. EASY!

WEIRD: In the shower, you must push a wall switch to heat the water; then, turn on shower faucet. Otherwise, water will never get warm. I had to ask the Front Desk personnel. HA HA!

NOT SO GOOD: Building is next to a few Clubs, so if the windows are open late at night, you can hear drunken businessmen. I thought it was rather amusing, but closing the windows makes it very quiet.

FINAL THOUGHTS: I have stayed in Roppongi T-Cube (bigger and a little nicer building) and various hotels in Tokyo. None of them had the same features, location, and activities within short walking distances. When staying in Roppongi area, I will stay here, at the Roppongi Central. I really enjoy this apartment building and location!

Room Tip: You must sign a 30-day (minimum) lease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central

Address: 3-8-5 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato > Akasaka / Roppongi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with CityZen, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Apartments Roppongi Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.