We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good food in a nice atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robataya

Robataya
4-4-3 Roppongi | 1 Field West Kyowa Building, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-3408-9674
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 6,432 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extremely good food in a nice atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Went with my wife as recommended by a colleague. We were not dissapointed. Staff are nice and the seating arrangements make it very lively. The chefs put on a show in this "paddle bar". All drinks and food are served with a wooden plank. I even got to participate in making of the "sticky rice" which then was served as a dessert for all customers. I can highly recommend this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    13
    11
    2
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Put pricey dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I went with a colleague recently while in town for business and really enjoyed the food (very good beef, prawns, veggies - everything very fresh and delicious), but you have no idea of the prices of anything you are ordering and the bill was high - about 25,000 for 2 although we really did eat quite a bit, plus sake, beer, etc. no dessert though. You also have to be willing to tolerate a high noise level as there is a lot of shouting back and forth between the chefs as they call out orders and do their thing to entertain the guests.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Authentic & truly amazing Japanese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Went here on a business trip & took over the whole restaurant - 25 of us seated in a horseshoe around the two "chefs" and their grill area. A great novelty way to serve beer - on a "paddle" that they used to lean it over to you! The food was fantastic - a non-stop stream of grilled fish, beef, pork, chicken & vegetables. The beef is to die for. I am not sure what sort of deal we had, but the food kept coming. The staff were superb - great fun, and clearly hugely talented, as they handed out each dish on their "paddles". We had some pretty good wine too, although not sure you could afford it on a normal budget! Definitely recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Great food and show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to me by my brother who visited Japan several times. This is an authentic Japanese grill restaurant where like tapanyaki they grill your choice of meat, seafood, and veg on a char grill infront of you. All the items they serve are very fresh and the chefs put up a good show as well. The food and service was exceptional.
Note: this is a small restaurant so you need to reserve in advance also on the expensive side.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food in an entertaining environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I had the best grilled seafood, (prawn and red snapper) and vegetables, (eggplant, asparagus, mushrooms) ever. We also had sushi which was outstanding. Everything is fresh and you get to pick your selections. The chefs and staff are very friendly and interact with the customers in a relaxed and entertaining manner. I even helped prepare the mochi (japanese rice desert). The restaurant is not large, but the atmosphere is lively. There was a good mixture of local and foreign customers dining this night. The U SHAPED counter invites interaction and makes the experience that much more enjoyable. The restaurant is pricey, but what good restaurant in Tokyo is not?? Enjoy both great food and a lively evening at Robataya!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robataya also viewed

 

Been to Robataya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robataya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.