We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will never eat sushi in London Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch

Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch
5-3-1 Akasaka | Akasaka Biz Tower 2F, Minato 107-6302, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-5545-5516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 6,823 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Indian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I will never eat sushi in London Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

London although a first class city for food has never offered high quality sushi except at very, very, high prices. Tokyo offers an incredible range of sushi choices. Our hotel suggested that we need to spend $400 per couple to really be happy. Boy were they wrong. Sushi no Midori has fabulous sushi and spending $100 per couple will give you great food and large portions. Get the salad as an example with sashimi and avocado. It is enough as a starter for two people and costs $8.50 and remember that includes service. You never have to wait if you get there by 6:00 PM. at seven we waited for an hour, Well worth it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Sushi were delicious - a must in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We found this place on Tripadvisor and we glad we decided to give it a try. The fish is very fresh, which makes the dishes (sushi and rolls) just wonderful. The cooks work in front of the guests - efficient, concentrated and polite. We ate much more than we had initially planned - simply couldn't help but continue to enjoy high-quality products.
They don't accept bookings, so there is always a line, but it moves quickly and worth waiting a bit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La-Celle-Saint-Cloud, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value but queing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

After five years and a 6 year expatriation period in Tokyo, we came back to Tokyo for holiday and visiting our friends.
During our stay we went twice to our Midori sushi, near Ginza. Sushis are excellent (at least for a non-Japanese) and not too expensive. We also ate twice in Zanmai sushi in Ginza, but we found it quality now clearly behind Midori which has only one issue: queing is sometimes long (1 hour for our second visit!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Escellent Sushi, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a "sushi chain", there are several throuout tokyo. There are set menus and also sushi by the piece, the prices are reasonable and the sushi is wonderful. there's always a line but ihe waiting is never too long.
This is a Non smoking restaurant which is hard to come by in Japan

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

During our 8 nights in Tokyo, we actually ate here 3 times ..it was that good! We never had to wait, always sat at the counter where we could watch the chefs in action. And we could point to what we want. Tried all kinds of sushi and sashimi - incrediby fresh! And at half the price we would pay at home in Amsterdam. It's also easy to find, top floor of the Akasaka Biz Tower. Friendly, fun and fabulous food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.