We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch

Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch
5-3-1 Akasaka | Akasaka Biz Tower 2F, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-6302, Japan
+81 3-5545-5516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 6,474 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good solid sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I came here because we are staying at a hotel 5 minutes away. Good solid sushi...I would not go overboard on heaping praises but it was fresh, cheap, and nicely prepared. The service was ok. It was a bit busy because it was lunch time. The restaurant is located on the second floor of the atrium which is adjacent to the main building.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious at a very affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here after reading the very helpful reviews. Getting off at Akasaka station on the Chiyoda line leads you right into the Biz tower. Checking the restaurant board, we found the restaurant's name in Kangei/Chinese characters so we found the restaurant easily on the 2nd floor. The line outside could have told us we were at the right place though. We signed our name on the waiting list and had a short wait despite it being 1pm on a Thursday. We sat at the sushi counter and our order was taken by the sushi chef himself! We ordered two lunch specials then an order of California roll and another order of the Norway roll (total around 4,360 yen! Great deal!) Everything was fresh and the maki rolls were quite big. My boyfriend had wanted to order eight pieces of each type of maki roll, but the sushi chef wisely only made four of each. He gestured to us that we would be too full and he was right! What great service!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I followed rule 1 for picking a restaurant in a foreign country which is go where you see the most locals. I tried the tuna platter which came with eight large pieces of tuna sushi, miso soup, and an appetizer. The wait was about 15 minutes at 530 PM on a Saturday. It was the best sushi I've ever had. Service was excellent despite the language barrier.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

the only sushi experience I've had that was better than Umegaoka was at the Tsukiji fish market itself -- Umegaoka is simply excellent - the sushi is freshest of the fresh, you get plenty of it and the proof is in the lines which start getting long around 7pm every night -- if you're in the Akasaka area, there's no better place to go for amazing sushi -and other dishes - they also have reasonably priced lunch specials -- it's my go-to sushi restaurant whenever possible. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We arrived there at 7p.m. with no resarvation.We waited only 10 minutes.You have to write your name at waiting list,just in front of entrance.Otherwise nobody tells you to do .İt was quiet difficult to find it.Restaurant is on the 2th floor of Akasaka Biz Tower,follow that exit from metro.There is no English signposts outside.After all this,sushi was fresh,tasty and just perfect. It cost 35usd for 2.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch also viewed

 

Been to Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umegaoka Sushi no Midori Akasaka-branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.