We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value at lunchtime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edition Koji Shimomura

Edition Koji Shimomura
Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-5549-4562
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 6,851 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $125 - $208
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great value at lunchtime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We read a review of Edition Koji Shimomura's fixed price lunch deal during a recent visit to Tokyo and managed to get a table for the next day. It was excellent - really interesting flavour combinations, beautifully presented, and with great service (despite the fact that we got a bit lost on the way and arrived rather late). Kitchen managed to arrange instant alternatives when they found out that only one of us ate meat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Precious Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Visited Michelin 2 stars restaurants in Tokyo. Chef Koji's cuisine was so elegant and creative. You should go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This restaurant was to be the highlight of one of our trips to Japan. However, it turned out to be anything but. Service was attentive and professional and that is probably the best thing about the entire experience. Food was pedestrian and certainly in my opinion not worthy of its lofty position amongst the stars of michelin. The fish covered in crunchy fried noodles and dusted with cheese shavings tasted bland - this was apparently the signature. The rest of the courses were similarly forgettable. Perhaps this was the intention as the chef supposedly does not use butter or cream in his cooking. Regretfully this was not my cup of tea.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

An amazingly sophisticated meal in a very unobtrusive location under a tower block of offices/housing. Beautiflly prepared and presented dishes. After so much fish recently I especially loved the mini hamburghers as appetiser and, later, the succulent venison, but the fish, fried encased in noodles, with its broccoli sauce was superb. Our big disappointment, after seeing wonderful chestnut desserts being served to other tables, was that they were 'out' of this dessert when our time came and so we had no choice and ended up with a chocolate dessert + chocolate tea, whic was good but at these prices I do not understand why/how we were denied our choice!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food ¡¡¡¡”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Two michelin stars, and one of the best restaurants in Tokyo. My dinner was amazing especially for the dessert ....cacao triptych ¡¡¡ ............highly recommended

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edition Koji Shimomura also viewed

 

Been to Edition Koji Shimomura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edition Koji Shimomura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.