We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never thought I would write a review on Pizza, BUT can not resist.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SAVOY

SAVOY
Motoazabu, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-5770-7899
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 6,435 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Good for: Romance
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
NYC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Never thought I would write a review on Pizza, BUT can not resist.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I live in NYC and well traveled. Savoy is bar far the best pizza I have had. This is the first time where the sauce and crust were perfect!
Highly recommend for some beer and pizza.
Small simple pizza bar with some jazz music playing in the background.
Service is great, received a warm and fun welcome upon arrival.
Trust me, I never thought pizza could make me so happy & write a review!!!
Still have Savoy cravings from time to time and laugh with my husband over how we wish we lived in Tokyo, just for this pizza.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    13
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is by far one of the best restaurants I've ever been to (and I've been to a lot around the world). The pizza is fantastic. The montepulciano wine is a great accompaniment. Actually talked the chef into an off menu pizza this last time. For a westerners, this is a great taste of home and a fantastic break from the sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best Napolitan pizza in Tokyo - have tried most of them”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Love Savoy - simple and fantastic. Go in for a beer and a pizza or two. Also can ask for the 'blanco' which isn't on the menu, but is a very solid white pizza. Can't go wrong with any of them. There are former Savoy chefs who have opened their own places, and i've been to most but they just haven't replicated Savoy. Savoy consistently is #1...not sure if it's the quality of the mozzarella or the sauce, but it's just the best.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Authentic and Simple = Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is as simple as it gets... 500c woodfired oven, a dozen seats, and either margherita or marinara pizza. Perfect dough stretched thin, hits the oven for about 90 seconds, and out comes perfection. There are a range of salads and other bits if you like, but the star of the show is the pizza. If charred-crust neaopolitan is your style, then savoy is your place. They don't speak much English, but couldn't be nicer. Bravo!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Simply the best Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I love Pizza and this is by far the best in Tokyo. Service is average at best and if it was not for the actually food this would stop me from returning so dont expect a warm welcome, any attention or a goodbye.

But after all this is just a pizza bar and you go for a quick eat - highly reccommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAVOY also viewed

 

Been to SAVOY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SAVOY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.