We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant omae XEX

Restaurant omae XEX
7-21-19 Roppongi | 1 Field I.K.N. Roppongi Building, Minato 〒106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-3479-0065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 6,851 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $83 - $150
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: Established in 1987, named "XEX Club House" at that time, and known as the first "members only" venue in Japan, XEX quickly become one of the most popular spot in Tokyo, crowded not only with Japanese celebrities, but as well became a favoured destination of major Hollywood stars. Today, open for the public, restaurant Omae XEX is still attracting the Hi Life in Tokyo.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is 1 of the best restaurant's in the WORLD ! Amazing what the do with the food, mash potatoes is even Wow. there is to many amazings things to try, so you will need to go a coulpe of times to get through the menu ..... And you be blown away by the taste's of this place. Then try an after dinner drink on the top floor lovely wooden fire place on a winter night, Perfect ending to 1 of the most amazing meals you could have !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Traditional Japanese food with a modern twist. Chefs menu ordered. Fantastic dishes. Would recommend this restaurant if only for the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The best meat I had during this trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This place is a culinary experience. 2 weeks after visiting this place, I'm still salivating thinking about our meal.

We took one of the menu. Fish starter, the little soup, the roasted onion, the succulent red snapper where amazing.

We took some middle priced beef and where very please with it. It is interesting to watch the restaurant butcher carefully cutting your steak, assessing the right amount of fat on the steak, removing careful the excess, and only then, weigh your steak.

One of us doesn't eat beef and ordered a la carte. He had an amazing expérience as well and among the best fish he ever had.

Temptation is high to go for the lobster. I would recommend to stay with simpler protein choice to fully appreciate the culinary expertize of the chefs

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The New World meets the "old" World ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

After the second visit one has really to know Tokyo rather well ( I have been there over the past years at least 20 times always with Japanese gourmet food "Snobs") to appreciate what this Restaurant has done to merge traditional Japanese Sushi on one side with the finest beef dishes reflecting on the other side, in an eclectic setting, current Western style of fine dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We went here for my girlfriends special birthday and it was brilliant. We sat in front of the chef in the teppanyaki area and watched him cook amazing food. The beef melts in your mouth, and the shrimp tartare starter was just amazing. We had the set menu (cheapest one) and would highly recommend it. The ambience is great, and feels really high end. Service was also good. After the set menu we went upstairs to the cigar lounge for deserts, which were ok, but the the highlight is definitely the teppanyaki. Unfortunately we didn't get a limo home like some of the other reviewers but overall it was a brilliant meal and would definitely recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant omae XEX also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant omae XEX? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant omae XEX, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.