We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet food with garden settings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai

Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai
4-4-13 Shibakoen, Minato 105-0011, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)
+81 3-3436-1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 6,851 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $47 - $110
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi
Torrance, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Gourmet food with garden settings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Course after course of beautiful and delicious gourmet kaiseki dining with beautiful views of a classic Japanese garden and beautiful Koi.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    100
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Marvelous garden, meals and building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We tried for a lunch. Meals and service are very nice.
Enjoyed a little tour of the building when we arrived and
a walk in a traditional Japanese garden after the meal.
So peaceful right in the middle of Tokyo.
Will definitely try it again and would recommend
especially to overseas visitors.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Traditional Japan is still in the center of Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Just at the corner of Tokyo tower, you will be able to time slip approximately 100years.
Wonderful surrounding, yummy dinner we enjoyed. We felt as we were inside of Samurai movie.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“best place with Tokyo Tower view and Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants that I've been in Japan. Their most famous dish is Tofu, however, their traditional Japanese set was all so yummy. You can feel the difference when you enter the restaurant from entrance, a whole team of staff welcomed you and with this first class service, you feel you're the most VIP there. Traditional Japanese garden, and Tokyo view is just at the back of the restaurant. This is the best place to enjoy food and view and atmostphere and feels like VIP. :)
The private rooms are all 'tatami' rooms.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Traveled in Japan near the end of March, 2014. We met fellow tourists that suggested we try the Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai. They were impressed with the gardens, food and presentation. Their impression was justified on all counts. The fact that we booked at the height of the cherry blossom season only added to the "theatre of dinning" as mentioned by a previous contributor.

Notably, one of our party required a gluten free menu and the restaurant accommodated that individual in a very satisfactory fashion.

Bottom line: Would I go there again if the opportunity arose? Without question!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.