We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Japan is still in the center of Tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai

Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai
4-4-13 Shibakoen, Minato 105-0011, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-3436-1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,695 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $48 - $113
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Tokyo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Japan is still in the center of Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Just at the corner of Tokyo tower, you will be able to time slip approximately 100years.
Wonderful surrounding, yummy dinner we enjoyed. We felt as we were inside of Samurai movie.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    79
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“best place with Tokyo Tower view and Japanese cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants that I've been in Japan. Their most famous dish is Tofu, however, their traditional Japanese set was all so yummy. You can feel the difference when you enter the restaurant from entrance, a whole team of staff welcomed you and with this first class service, you feel you're the most VIP there. Traditional Japanese garden, and Tokyo view is just at the back of the restaurant. This is the best place to enjoy food and view and atmostphere and feels like VIP. :)
The private rooms are all 'tatami' rooms.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Traveled in Japan near the end of March, 2014. We met fellow tourists that suggested we try the Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai. They were impressed with the gardens, food and presentation. Their impression was justified on all counts. The fact that we booked at the height of the cherry blossom season only added to the "theatre of dinning" as mentioned by a previous contributor.

Notably, one of our party required a gluten free menu and the restaurant accommodated that individual in a very satisfactory fashion.

Bottom line: Would I go there again if the opportunity arose? Without question!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A theatre of fine dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

From my travel journal of my visit to Tokyo, March 30, 2014:
Our reservation was for 6:30 pm at Tofuya Ukai situated just beneath the white and vermillion Tokyo Tower. As it turned out, a spectacular traditional Japanese restaurant, that took the form of a vast villa-like setting within walls, dotted with beautiful gardens and several dining pavilions. Everything was impeccable from the dining rooms to the furnishings to the polite staff in kimono and other traditional Japanese dress. And then the food started to arrive; small morsels of fish and vegetables and the house specialty, tofu, all beautifully presented in fine ceramic and wooden dishes in the the grand tradition of an elegant Japanese kaiseki feast. The sashimi course included two of perhaps the best pieces of tuna I have ever tasted. They were shrouded with sakura leaves to impart a subtle flavour of cherry to them and of course to mark the fact that it was cherry blossom viewing season. That was just one of eight courses, each equally beautiful to the eye and delicious to the palate. The sake was served in a segment of green bamboo.
An added bonus was the close proximity of Tokyo Tower. At dusk with its dazzling lighting it provided a spectacular backdrop to this "theatre of fine dining".

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Dined here as part of a business meeting with a large group and found it to be quite good! They have effectively created a beautiful garden setting on the grounds of the Tokyo Tower. Make sure you book/request a tour of the garden/facility as it is not to be missed. Service and food were excellent and this is coming from someone who is not really a big fan of tofu! It is not cheap, but not much is in Tokyo. This place has over 50 private rooms so they can handle various sizes of parties yet provide a 'private' dining environment. Wonderful experience and food, not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.