We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and atmosphere - good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai

Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai
4-4-13 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan
+81 3-3436-1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,432 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $55 - $128
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and atmosphere - good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I were taken here by a close Japanese friend ... as other review have noted, you have a nice view of the Tokyo Tower - realizing as least for me this tower isn't quite as noteworthy as the one in Paris. That being said, we loved the Japanese gardens surrounding the large, sprawling restaurant. From what my host said, when the place opened 10 or so years ago, many old Japanese maples and other trees were moved to make it seem like the grounds has been established for centuries.

As the name of the place would suggest, tofu is a focus of this kaiseki style meal. As normal for this type of Japanese place, you will have a private dining room and your dedicated waiter. 10 or so courses were served with perhaps 6 of them being tofu related in some form. Some of the courses did have fish (sashimi, grilled, etc) as part of them. My wife and I actually like tofu quite a lot but in this case perhaps it was just a bit too much tofu overall although my wife loved the fired tofu dish with a ginger sauce.

So in short, this meal worked fine and would be a good place to go for your first kaiseki style meal especially if you are a vegetarian and/or connoisseur of tofu. That being said, find it a bit hard to believe that it's currently ranked 14th of all places in Tokyo given how many wonderful restaurants there are in this fine city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    103
    60
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Experience Japanese Food and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This restaurant is a small oasis in the middle of the buzz of Tokyo. You enter the beautiful garden and peace and harmony settles over you. Tofu-based food may sound a little dull, but not here! The variations and combinations make this one of the best meals I have had in Japan during 20 years of regular visits. Go here and enjoy the peace and beauty and the excellent meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Loved it as soon as I saw it. Set within this very traditional Japanese garden right under the Tokyo Tower. As an avid tofu lover, I knew I had to try it as soon as I heard about it. Most of the food was perfect, except for the rice course which I thought could do with some improvements (the flavour) but other than that, I enjoyed every course. When reading the reviews for Tofuya, people mentioned about the lack of service, and some even said it was bad. I thought the service was very good, maybe because we were one of the first ones there for lunch, when it got busy later on, the waitresses had to rush around which was very acceptable since there were many guests and only around 3 waitresses serving. Overall I thought it was the best meal on this 3 day trip, I would definitely recommend it to people who want to try something different, set in a traditional Japanese environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuchu, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true Japanese experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have lived in Tokyo for 3 years & i love discovering new places. This is a winner! My oversea's guest's enjoyed it so much & so did i. The service was flawless. The setting was flawless which absolutely made the whole experience. The food was yummy & Unique but you have to like tofu as there is alot of it.
We took our babies (9mths) and the private tatami rooms were perfect for us to enjoy lunch whilst they crawled about & enjoyed looking out the windows at the amazing gardens & fish pond.
The attention to detail in the presentation of each dish, the staff & the serving of different dishes was 10/10.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhaven
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Room with at view - in the middle of Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ukai - is located right next to Tokyo Tower and is in the "back" of the historical shine. It doesn't seem like much on the outside, but once entering Ukai - you will soon see the beautiful, peaceful garden – full with traditional Japanese trees, flowers and interior.
The restaurant is spitted up in different sizes private room – all with a unique beautiful view of the garden.
The menu consist of many different traditional Japanese food; all served with style by our own waiter dresses in a working kimono. The food was delicious, interesting and with many fantastic flavors. We tried some different kinds of sake – and they were all very tasteful.
This is really a fantastic restaurant – not only for its food and sake, but also for it’s fantastic scenery and very kind services. I have eaten many places in Tokyo, but never have I tried a place so beautiful and peaceful as Ukai. You couldn’t tell that you were in the middle of Tokyo.

So try it – and enjoy :o)

(but I do recommend that you are accompanied with Japanese as you may find some difficulties with the language)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.