We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the resturant under Tokyo tower.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai

Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai
4-4-13 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011, Japan
+81 3-3436-1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,546 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $48 - $112
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Welcome to the resturant under Tokyo tower.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

It was winter, I arrived at the resturant via a taxi, and I was greeted with very friendly traffic marshellers, who helped me with my luagage. The resturant was quite traditional and had a really nice Japanese garden with a chef preparing tofu in the middle of it. The waitress provided us with extremely good service. Last but not the least, the food was incredible. I had the set lunch with a cheap warm sake on the list. Check out the pictures I uploaded.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Japanese garden restaurant beneath the Tokyo tower”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's another Ukai series restaurant - the same atmosphere but smaller scale of Japanese garden but it's in the centre of Tokyo which makes most people convenient to visit. I prefer Tofu food than Toriyama or Chikutei meat - you don't need to cook yourself thus more relaxed time. There is also Tofu Ukai in Hachioji, which is also good food and bit cheaper menu for the same food. You can see some antique Japanese tofu making tools in the restaurant. Best to enjoy as tourists in Japan or for a quiet long lunch with friends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Unparalleled Japanese ambiance. Great for first timers or old Tokyo pros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ancient looking garden and building all recently created to give you taste of old Japan. Cannot beat the view of Tokyo tower. Taken family and business clients many times. Food is very good but not gourmet. Probably to big a restaurant to have great food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I thing last time I was surprise like this, it was long long time ago!
The place is magic, is like a Chihiro journey on Tofu kingdom.
The food is an explosion of taste at every bites.
You cannot came by tokyo and not try this place!
Tofu amateur or connoisseur, you will look on it differently!

ITADAKIMASU!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning setting and great cultural experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This restaurant is one of my favorites in Tokyo. The Japanese garden surrounding the restaurant is a beautiful respite from the hetic city. This is a true Japanese experience with impeccably prepared food. Several courses are tofu, but even if you think you do not like tofu, you should give this restaurant a try as they specialize in tofu and the tofu dishes are delicious. Very traditional service and setting, so do not expect to be able to make subsitutions, etc. unless you call in advance (if you don't eat pork for example). Go for a long lunch for more affordable sets and better views of the gardens. Should try at least once while in Tokyo for the experience alone.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai also viewed

 

Been to Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Shiba Tofuya Ukai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.