We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THe palce wants to be like in Paris, but it lacks a bit in specialty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
6-10-1 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-5772-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 6,546 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $211 - $337
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Out Islands
Top Contributor
566 reviews 566 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
426 helpful votes 426 helpful votes
“THe palce wants to be like in Paris, but it lacks a bit in specialty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The place thrivces to be good and excels in its ambiente, and a few frech speaking employees who make a big fuss of being French. i guess part of the game.
Competition is high in Tokyo and so i give it a 4*

Great place for a more casual , no tie, dinner.

Frank

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent like in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Just excellent service, food and atmosphere
Great 40USD lunch menu!
Was full so better to book a table...
Whine menu pretty extended for all budget

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went with my spouse on a Friday at lunch time. It was almost to capacity and we had not made a reservation, but we were seated anyway. Safer to make a reservation next time. Most of the seating is at a counter around an open kitchen: the waiters serve you over the counter, and behind them you see the entire cook staff at work. Nice color theme of black and red for the dishes, decor, and staff uniforms. But the best part is the food: fresh seasonal ingredients, perfectly prepared, and meticulously presented. (My only complaint would be that the portions are a little on the small side.) And for lunch, this world-class food can be affordable: starting at ¥1,900. We enjoyed every course, from appetizer to salad to entrée to dessert (photo attached).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Maybe the best meal I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Everything we had here was spectacular. The waiter talked us through each course, how it had been cooked and what was special about it, which made us feel very special. The wagyu beef in particular was of course incredible. The food was interesting without being over-complicated or fussy, Great food, great wine, great service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great food! Ambiance a bit too casual for a special dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love JR's restaurants and like to try them in different cities. The food is always just top notch... and so was the case with L'Atelier in Tokyo.

After much deliberation on what to eat (there are multiple choices ranging from the chef's menu - Y14,000+, set menus and ala carte menu), we settled on set Menu B (appetizer, soup, entree and dessert at Y8,800 per head).

We loved the amuse bouche (creamy peppered pork served atop a perfectly toasted french bread), the half boiled egg with mushroom and asparagus appetizer (it won over the hubby's crab dish), the chestnut cream soup (over the foie gras ravioli in chicken consomme) and both the fish mains (sea bream with vegetables and john dory with lentil puree). But the highlight of the evening was my poached pear dessert (hubby's chocolate ganache was good too, but no competition) with cinnamon tartlet on the side - absolutely divine and highly recommended!

We were absolutely stuffed but couldn't resist the excellent petit fours.

The setting seemed a bit casual (much prefer the ambiance at the L'Atelier in HK) for a special occasion dinner and it was disappointing that our servers could not speak proper English to describe our dishes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 
Minato, Tokyo
 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.