We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food! Ambiance a bit too casual for a special dinner.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
6-10-1 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-5772-7500
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 6,326 restaurants in Minato
Price range: $244 - $391
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great food! Ambiance a bit too casual for a special dinner.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I love JR's restaurants and like to try them in different cities. The food is always just top notch... and so was the case with L'Atelier in Tokyo.

After much deliberation on what to eat (there are multiple choices ranging from the chef's menu - Y14,000+, set menus and ala carte menu), we settled on set Menu B (appetizer, soup, entree and dessert at Y8,800 per head).

We loved the amuse bouche (creamy peppered pork served atop a perfectly toasted french bread), the half boiled egg with mushroom and asparagus appetizer (it won over the hubby's crab dish), the chestnut cream soup (over the foie gras ravioli in chicken consomme) and both the fish mains (sea bream with vegetables and john dory with lentil puree). But the highlight of the evening was my poached pear dessert (hubby's chocolate ganache was good too, but no competition) with cinnamon tartlet on the side - absolutely divine and highly recommended!

We were absolutely stuffed but couldn't resist the excellent petit fours.

The setting seemed a bit casual (much prefer the ambiance at the L'Atelier in HK) for a special occasion dinner and it was disappointing that our servers could not speak proper English to describe our dishes.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    54
    30
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Sat at the bar. It was my first time in Tokyo and this was my first stop after a long flight. A bit of a warning: wine pours in Tokyo are 4 ounces and they aren't quick to refill the glass. I recommend ordering a bottle! I started with a king crab, mozzarella salad with some sort of citrus vinaigrette. It was the BEST salad I have ever had. While sitting at the bar you can see the chefs and you quickly learn to respect how difficult it is to work in a busy restaurant. It was such an amazing experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fine but nothing special......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I went here for lunch with some friends. We went specifically for the cheap '1900' Yen course menu, but were disappointed to find that there was no fish option that day (just pork ribs or roast chicken). The food included a small spinach pastry as an amuse, an appetizer, main, and dessert. It was fine, but not particularly creative or inspiring. I found the service a bit suffocating and was surprised when we were charged a 10% service fee. But if you are a big fan of French Cuisine and/or the Robuchon name, this could be the lunch place for you. The baked goods were yummy!

You apparently must get there early if you want the cheaper course....otherwise you have a regular menu of approximately 3000 or 4000 Y. You can make a reservation for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“2 well undeserved michelin stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Nothing but ordinary. If you like to wait and to eat retro.....this is the place. Food presentation with no harmony or interest, no imagination and quite frankly super expensive for what you get. Much better restaurants around town, better food, better atmosphere, better service. Not impress and so the other 7 guests siting at my table

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyoi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had dinner here the other day, and it was fantastic!! My husband had the Autumn Course, which included truffles, fois gras, etc. I had the duck, and everything was very good. Service is good too. It's set in a very casual atmosphere, but the quality of food and service is top notch.
Definitely would like to go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.