We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a casual atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon

L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon
6-10-1 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-5772-7500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 6,835 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $210 - $336
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Tokyoi
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food in a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had dinner here the other day, and it was fantastic!! My husband had the Autumn Course, which included truffles, fois gras, etc. I had the duck, and everything was very good. Service is good too. It's set in a very casual atmosphere, but the quality of food and service is top notch.
Definitely would like to go again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    52
    18
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sushi bar configuration serving French food of the highest caliber. Nice service. Main chef is Japanese and produces excellent French cuisine. Always bring nice amuse bouche -- and finishes with a basil base soup with strawberries. Everything is great. Lettuce base soups. Puree is superbe.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great upscale lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went to this restaurant with very low expectations- we thought that it would be over-rated as it only uses the name of the chef and he is basically not in the location itself. We were pleasantly surprised to find out that this restaurant is really great! we chose the set menu for 8000 Yen and added 1500 Yen each for 2 special dishes. As a starter we had a lemongrass jelly, then we took the shrimp and the calamari(both were very nice, not outstanding). Then we had the Izaki fish(extra cost) and the sea bream- they were both lovely! after that we took the Wagyo beef(extra cost) and the lamb both dishes were amazing! then we had a pre dessert(really nice- with a pistachio mousse) for dessert we had a chocolate dome(heaven!) and a souffle cassis.
The service was great and my dietery requirements(wheat free due to celiac...) were properly addressed(finally! in Japan it is not that obvious...) and i could order almost all the dishes!! really superb experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Rather over-rated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The high price and "je ne sais quoi de poo poo" are just too much of an over-load to call this restaurant a pleasurable experience. Very pretentious dining is the theme so take it from there...

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent culinary team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The food and presentation was excellent. My friends and I had a wonderful evening. We must admit that this was one of our best experience in Japan.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon also viewed

 

Been to L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.