We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ramen, very affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ippudo

Ippudo
4-9-11 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-5775-7561
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 6,546 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $7 - $8
Cuisines: Noodle
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great ramen, very affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I've been to the Ippudo in the East Village in New York, but I liked this one better. The restaurant dining room is charming - in the back, you sit around one large table with perhaps 14 seats. But with beautiful plants in the middle, you don't feel like you're intruding with your neighbors.

Obviously the reason to come here is the ramen, and it's simply amazing. But even more thrilling is how affordable it is. The wait staff were all in a really good mood the night we were there, like all whistling while they worked.

One watch out is that it's cash only, but this is no problem.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    26
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good and consistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were introduced to this chain by a friend who loves the restaurant. Its a great standby restaurant for ramen and is great for families and friends. All seating is counter, so not condusive for conversation in a large groups. The menu concentrates on the Hakata style of ramen and is very tasty and a good value.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Amazing find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Wandered into this establishment thanks to the Trip Advisor Tokyo app. The name isn't in English out front, so we used photos to determine which restaurant in the alley it was. The food was fantastic all around...the stir-fried bean sprouts and dumplings were exceptional, as was the house specialty - ramen. The price and quality of food are so out of sync, it is amazing...so inexpensive. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good ramen restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Ippudo make tasty ramen at a very good price. We tried the house ramen at their Ginza outlet and it was very tasty. Would recommend for a quick, inexpensive lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Tonkotsu Ramen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

After about 6 months living in Japan we became big fans of tonkotsu ramen. Tonkotsu is ramen with a pork bone broth, which gives it a slightly milky and very rich consistency. Ippudo was the best tonkotsu ramen we found in Tokyo. Like most ramen restaurants in Japan it was affordable with a friendly staff. It's not far from Roppongi Hills and the atmosphere is very comfortable.

Here are some ideas of other things to see in Roppongi after you eat at Ippudo: http://www.blaineanderin.com/roppongi/

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ippudo also viewed

 

Been to Ippudo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ippudo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.