We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatrical meal with outstanding food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NARISAWA

NARISAWA
2-6-15 Minami Aoyama, Minato 107-0062, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-5785-0799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 7,151 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $103 - $171
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Theatrical meal with outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

For my review and photos from Narisawa, see the following link: http://foodmab.blogspot.com.au/2013/06/narisawa-tokyo-20-november-2012.html

Dining at Narisawa is not just about eating. It is also a show. The food is presented in a theatrical and dramatic manner. The cooking is precise and flavours are amazing. A restaurant worthy of a detour, as the Michelin Guide would say.

I came for the 4-course lunch meal that was priced at 7,350 yen. This is a bargain compared to their 10 course meal served at dinner, which is priced at 21,000 yen. For those on a budget and want to experience Michelin-star food, lunchtime is always the best bet. Narisawa has since changed the lunch course to match the dinner course and is now priced at 12,600 yen, which still represents value.

There are so many highlights from bread being baked at your table to the squid course called 'Ash'. This was a truly impressive dish, with great balance of flavours and perfectly cooked squid. With dramatic presentation to boot! The squid was grilled over a mix of cherry wood and charcoal, and served with a paprika sauce and vinaigrette. The vinaigrette was served as a frozen powder, resembling ash, and was generously spooned over the squid on the table, creating a veil of mist. The squid was fresh and tender to the bite. All the components work with each other, the vinaigrette creating that “wow” factor that you come to expect from a top Michelin star restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Narisawa has been palced #1 on the S.Pellegrino 50 Best Restaurants list. The entire place deserves it not only because of the quality of food and amazing flavours but because its enormous creativity and uniqueness. You'll try food you've never tried before I guarantee; you won't wait to finish the dish in front of you just to taste the next one.

The restaurant is simple but looks nice and really the thing here is the food. We had a table next to the kitchen which isn't open but it has a big window you can look through. It's gourmet food presented in a very special way, prepared with French techniques. Unfortunately we couldn't finish the dishes as we had to run to the airport after having spent about two hours already, so had one of the desserts and left quickly for the hotel to grab our bags and the same taxi took us to the terminal.

We had lunch with a small bottle of sake and sparkling water and paid AUD$440

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've never encountered such magical food and magical service - the whole night was beyond dreaming, Narisawa himself came by and introduced himself, the staff were friendly, explained everything, the ambience perfect and it's the type of restaurant you just have to take a camera too. Everyone in the place was taking photos - why not - you're seeing magic! Hugely expensive but absolutely worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Exciting to all 5 senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Immediately greeted by a warm host. Very attentive staff. Very knowledgeable on each dish and the sommelier was excellent!! Thoroughly enjoyed each dish! All the dishes excite all 5 senses!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chr15fromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Deserves the title of best in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I went through the Michelin list in Tokyo and picked Narasawa not realizing that it has 3 stars and had just won best in Asia.

It was a perfect evening. The minimalist dacor, great atmosphere and fantastic wait staff (English speaking as they are seeing a transition in their clientele as they see more foreigners with their ever increasing good press).

Every course was beautiful, rich in color and of course, delicious.

Three hours flew by and we loved every moment. My only regret was that I only brought my iPhone. I wasn't going to take any photos but the dishes were so interesting I could not resist.

We will be back, next time with our boys who will love the experience.

Well done. Best restaurant we have ever had the good fortune to visit.

The only thing .. The 25-100 price range is absolutely wrong ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelWeening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NARISAWA also viewed

 

Been to NARISAWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing