We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatrical meal with outstanding food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NARISAWA

NARISAWA
2-6-15 Minami Aoyama, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0062, Japan
+81 3-5785-0799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 6,460 Restaurants in Minato
Price range: $110 - $183
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Theatrical meal with outstanding food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

For my review and photos from Narisawa, see the following link: http://foodmab.blogspot.com.au/2013/06/narisawa-tokyo-20-november-2012.html

Dining at Narisawa is not just about eating. It is also a show. The food is presented in a theatrical and dramatic manner. The cooking is precise and flavours are amazing. A restaurant worthy of a detour, as the Michelin Guide would say.

I came for the 4-course lunch meal that was priced at 7,350 yen. This is a bargain compared to their 10 course meal served at dinner, which is priced at 21,000 yen. For those on a budget and want to experience Michelin-star food, lunchtime is always the best bet. Narisawa has since changed the lunch course to match the dinner course and is now priced at 12,600 yen, which still represents value.

There are so many highlights from bread being baked at your table to the squid course called 'Ash'. This was a truly impressive dish, with great balance of flavours and perfectly cooked squid. With dramatic presentation to boot! The squid was grilled over a mix of cherry wood and charcoal, and served with a paprika sauce and vinaigrette. The vinaigrette was served as a frozen powder, resembling ash, and was generously spooned over the squid on the table, creating a veil of mist. The squid was fresh and tender to the bite. All the components work with each other, the vinaigrette creating that “wow” factor that you come to expect from a top Michelin star restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    17
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Narisawa has been palced #1 on the S.Pellegrino 50 Best Restaurants list. The entire place deserves it not only because of the quality of food and amazing flavours but because its enormous creativity and uniqueness. You'll try food you've never tried before I guarantee; you won't wait to finish the dish in front of you just to taste the next one.

The restaurant is simple but looks nice and really the thing here is the food. We had a table next to the kitchen which isn't open but it has a big window you can look through. It's gourmet food presented in a very special way, prepared with French techniques. Unfortunately we couldn't finish the dishes as we had to run to the airport after having spent about two hours already, so had one of the desserts and left quickly for the hotel to grab our bags and the same taxi took us to the terminal.

We had lunch with a small bottle of sake and sparkling water and paid AUD$440

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've never encountered such magical food and magical service - the whole night was beyond dreaming, Narisawa himself came by and introduced himself, the staff were friendly, explained everything, the ambience perfect and it's the type of restaurant you just have to take a camera too. Everyone in the place was taking photos - why not - you're seeing magic! Hugely expensive but absolutely worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exciting to all 5 senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Immediately greeted by a warm host. Very attentive staff. Very knowledgeable on each dish and the sommelier was excellent!! Thoroughly enjoyed each dish! All the dishes excite all 5 senses!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Deserves the title of best in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I went through the Michelin list in Tokyo and picked Narasawa not realizing that it has 3 stars and had just won best in Asia.

It was a perfect evening. The minimalist dacor, great atmosphere and fantastic wait staff (English speaking as they are seeing a transition in their clientele as they see more foreigners with their ever increasing good press).

Every course was beautiful, rich in color and of course, delicious.

Three hours flew by and we loved every moment. My only regret was that I only brought my iPhone. I wasn't going to take any photos but the dishes were so interesting I could not resist.

We will be back, next time with our boys who will love the experience.

Well done. Best restaurant we have ever had the good fortune to visit.

The only thing .. The 25-100 price range is absolutely wrong ...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NARISAWA also viewed

 

Been to NARISAWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NARISAWA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.