We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NARISAWA

NARISAWA
2-6-15 Minami Aoyama, Minato 107-0062, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-5785-0799
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6,558 Restaurants in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 121 Reviews
Price range: $100 - $167
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Really lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Went with my boyfriend for our 5 year anniversary. We definitely picked a good place to celebrate- it was very classy! Loved the food they served us. The bill was a lot considering we didn't drink much, but we felt it was well worth it for the experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    23
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Wickedly creative, confronting, playful and divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Such a playful approach should be lauded. The bread baked at the table in a hot stone pot was excellent. The use of interesting, if somewhat confronting at times, ingredients was spot on. It was a joyful experience. The food was balanced and the menu told a story at unfolded on the palate. Afterwards, my husband and I could not stop thing about the dishes that we loved. The oyster blackened with a hard shell carrying the feint aroma and taste of yuzu was so wickedly good that I could have eaten 17 more.

Service was flawless. The room was dark enough to be intimate and the kitchen was visible for most of the meal and then a large door was drawn across the window unobtrusively, presumably when the cleaning started.

Certainly a wonderful experience and one that I would gladly repeat. There are so many restaurants we must visit in Tokyo, who knows when we shall return.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Unique, world calss experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Chef Narisawa takes one on a unique, mind blowing culinary journey. Each dish is carefully designed and served with care. The wine list represents the best there is. This was rated the 12th best restaurant in the world by San Pellegrino with reason! A must visit in Tokyo. But: go hungry!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Creative Presentation with the Gifts of Nature Theme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Went there for lunch however ordered the dinner course. The visual experience was amazing and the service was exceptional. I especially enjoyed the potted plant that was in fact the butter and the use of nature throughout the set course. The only disappointment was the taste. I thought the creativeness did hamper the flavor a bit. I was really looking forward to the Japanese beef however did not live up to my expectations. Overall I did enjoy my experience however for over $600.00 US with no alcohol, I think it is more a once in a lifetime event.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“This is the best restaurant in Asia? Ouch!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We were pretty hyped up about our visit to this restaurant after it's been rated as "The Best Restaurant in Asia" 2 years in a roll. Japanese are very passionate about food and to be the best in Asia, or even Japan said a lot about this place. Expectation was very high.

The restaurant was fairly easy to find, just a 2-minute walk from the Aoyama Itchome Station. To keep things simple, we ordered the set lunch with an appetizer, main course and dessert. No choice was required.

The first to come was the amuse bouche which was a leave with its root and it tasted exactly like one. It's nice for phototaking but honestly not something I want to put in my mouth. The rest of our lunch also failed to impress. For example, my chicken breast which was slow cooked for one day according to our server, was a bit raw in the inside. The dessert, which was nicely presented, was actually pina colada with passion fruit, mango etc. Enough presentation but what we want genuinely was food that tasted great. Forget about presentation!

Yen 7,000 wasn't a crazy price to pay for a good lunch in Tokyo standard but I would definitely prefer to spend it elsewhere. The usual suspects such as Joel Robuchon at Ebisu, Benoit by Alain Ducaisse etc would be much safer bet.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NARISAWA also viewed

 

Been to NARISAWA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NARISAWA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.