We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Soba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honmura An

Honmura An
7-14-18 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032 , Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-57726657
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 6,559 Restaurants in Minato
4.5 of 5 stars 26 Reviews
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Soba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went here by recommendation from our hotel, we had asked for a restaurant serving great Soba that wasn't too casual and this was it! We got the tasting menu and everything on it was delicious. The staff was also wonderful. They were very helpful and would explain what everything was to us. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

One of my best dinners in Tokyo. I had a soba with tempura set and a seasonal side dish, grated mountain yam with salmon roe and sea urchin, with the final bill adding up to 3000 yen.

Service is good, and English speakers will not encounter any problems at this classy restaurant. The place is a bit hidden, sited on the second floor, opposite a carpark, in a lane off the main street. Hope this helps!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good food and fabulous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the seasonal tasting menu, of which all courses were very tasty. The staff were extremely attentive and there were obviously quite a few faithful regulars which is always a good sign. I'd say average value for money for Tokyo and definitely worth a try

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Soba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been to Honmura An 5 or 6 times now. Living nearby it is a great spot to head to for some great Soba in a nice environment with great service. The Cold Soba with Sesame Dipping Sauce as well as the Hot Soba with Duck are two highlights that we commonly have. The signature chicken meat balls are pretty nice to for a starter. We have had the tasting menu a couple of times as well and enjoyed it, however it was a lot of food.
Its not a cheap place, but I think value for money wise its one of the best spots to get a Soba experience in.
Well worth the trip, and worth going back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Seasonal Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Tokyo. The seasonal tasting menu is great, offering seven very different courses that allow you to get a sampling of Japanese cuisine. The soba noodles are consistently good (ask for the sesame dipping sauce) and the octopus sashimi was probably the best I have ever had (soft, lots of flavor, not chewy). I would never consider myself a foodie, but would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honmura An also viewed

 

Been to Honmura An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honmura An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.