We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honmura An

Honmura An
7-14-18 Roppongi, Minato 106-0032 , Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-57726657
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 6,785 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

One of my best dinners in Tokyo. I had a soba with tempura set and a seasonal side dish, grated mountain yam with salmon roe and sea urchin, with the final bill adding up to 3000 yen.

Service is good, and English speakers will not encounter any problems at this classy restaurant. The place is a bit hidden, sited on the second floor, opposite a carpark, in a lane off the main street. Hope this helps!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food and fabulous service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We had the seasonal tasting menu, of which all courses were very tasty. The staff were extremely attentive and there were obviously quite a few faithful regulars which is always a good sign. I'd say average value for money for Tokyo and definitely worth a try

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Soba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have been to Honmura An 5 or 6 times now. Living nearby it is a great spot to head to for some great Soba in a nice environment with great service. The Cold Soba with Sesame Dipping Sauce as well as the Hot Soba with Duck are two highlights that we commonly have. The signature chicken meat balls are pretty nice to for a starter. We have had the tasting menu a couple of times as well and enjoyed it, however it was a lot of food.
Its not a cheap place, but I think value for money wise its one of the best spots to get a Soba experience in.
Well worth the trip, and worth going back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Seasonal Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Tokyo. The seasonal tasting menu is great, offering seven very different courses that allow you to get a sampling of Japanese cuisine. The soba noodles are consistently good (ask for the sesame dipping sauce) and the octopus sashimi was probably the best I have ever had (soft, lots of flavor, not chewy). I would never consider myself a foodie, but would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“wonderful food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was very sorry when Honmura An closed in New York five years ago or so, and delighted when I realized that the proprietor had moved back to Tokyo to take over his father's restaurant. I had dinner there twice in the fall (forgot to review at the time), and both meals were exquisite. I had the set menu, and everything was delicious, and the owner and his staff very charming. A real gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honmura An also viewed

 
Minato, Tokyo
Minato, Tokyo
 

Been to Honmura An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honmura An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.