We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Seasonal Tasting Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honmura An

Honmura An
7-14-18 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032 , Japan
+81 3-57726657
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 6,404 restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Seasonal Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Tokyo. The seasonal tasting menu is great, offering seven very different courses that allow you to get a sampling of Japanese cuisine. The soba noodles are consistently good (ask for the sesame dipping sauce) and the octopus sashimi was probably the best I have ever had (soft, lots of flavor, not chewy). I would never consider myself a foodie, but would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone traveling to Tokyo.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    14
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“wonderful food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was very sorry when Honmura An closed in New York five years ago or so, and delighted when I realized that the proprietor had moved back to Tokyo to take over his father's restaurant. I had dinner there twice in the fall (forgot to review at the time), and both meals were exquisite. I had the set menu, and everything was delicious, and the owner and his staff very charming. A real gem.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Best alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to this place by a friend, as our favorite soba joint Kanda got burnt down recently. Great soba but I felt the soba texture at Kanda is much better than Honmura. Overall enjoyed our meal and service was good with English menu and english speaking staff. Besides soba the restaurant offered many other choices for non soba fans.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I visited honmura an twice while in Tokyo for a weeks break and both times were terrific.
Walking to it the first evening, past an Irish bar and 'seventh heaven', I wasn't too optimistic, but how wrong I was. From the minute we arrived, service was wonderful, with the owner quickly realising that I was relatively new to Japanese food and therefore ensuring that as each course was served, one of his staff would give a very quick set on instructions how best to enjoy.

And so to the food, I will have to admit to being a bit of a foodie, and the food here did not disappoint. From tofu to noodles, through tempura (how light was that batter?) to smelt (small fried fish) everything was delicious, cooked to perfection and served with care.

We returned for our final night dinner..In a city of over 4000 restaurants, in an area that is crammed with eateries and contains lots of the big name hotels, returning says it all.

Great food, good ambiance and a lovely welcome. Please visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a tasty place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here during the honeymoon. (We have to thank a friend of ours who suggests the We ate a great tempura and for the first time we ate the horse meat! Also the soba was fantastic! I discovered a passion for the ginnan!!! Also the staff is wonderful. A special night in a special place. We love it!! ^_^

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honmura An also viewed

 
Minato, Tokyo

Been to Honmura An? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honmura An, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.