We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Friendly and Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho to your Saves list
Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-18-14 Hamamatsucho, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0013, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #35 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean, Friendly and Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with friends over the Xmas/New Year period of 2012/2013. The rooms were very small (although as we were in Tokyo I was expecting this anyway) but were modern, clean and practical. The staff were incredibly friendly and tried to help as much as they could with their very limited English. The beds were so comfortable that I had to drag myself out every morning to go see the sights! The location is perfect as it's within easy reach of a metro station and train station. There is also a supermarket located a few doors down the road. The only thing is that the hotel didn't have any restaurants, cafes, etc (but it did have vending machines to buy drinks) nor did it have any wi-fi (only cable access). But having said this, we had a budget to stick to and, if we hadn't found such a clean and modern hotel in the centre of Tokyo we wouldn't have been able to go on this trip in the first place. The hotel was full of tourists and we all agreed that it was great value for money in Tokyo. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on a medium budget and is happy to get dinner from the supermarket or eat out occasionally and can live without wi-fi for a few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    100
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
60
59
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kibbutz Revivim, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We came here for 4 days with family to see Tokyo. The location is very convenient, close to trains and subways, there are restaurants and convenience stores in the area, and the reception is open 24 hours. The staff were (obviously!) very polite and helpful, and the rooms are really not as small as everyone makes them out to be!

On the subject of cleanliness: by normal standards, it was fantastic. But by the usual Japanese standards of cleanliness, I found it somewhat lacking... hair where there shouldn't have been any, dust in forgotten places, and a few small details that showed signs of the beginnings of neglect. But in saying that it was still far superior to many more expensive hotels I have stayed in.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel... and the free coffee is an added bonus!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights in November/December 2012. Room was small and bed/pillows were fairly hard but still managed to sleep well every night. Kettle with green tea and English afternoon tea were provided in the room along. Mini fridge also provided which was useful as there was a 7/11, Family Mart and Lawsons all located less than 2 minutes away. Shampoo, conditioner and body wash provided in the room and extras such as razors, hairbrushes, moisturiser, cotton buds, make up remover, shaving gel etc... were provided for free in the lobby for you to take as required. Free coffee machine was also located in the lobby.

Bathroom was small but absolutely fine.

Main negative is that there wasn't really anywhere to put clothes (there was a small rack with a few hangers but not enough to put a week's worth of clothes) so we lived out of the suitcase.

Reception staff were friendly but English was limited. They seemed to understand everything we asked though and we had no problems checking in/out.

Close to the Hamamatsucho JR station and the Daimon subway station was 2 minutes away (exit A2). We didn't want to stay somewhere really busy so this was great for us as it was easy to get everywhere else that we wanted to go within Tokyo without having to stay in the busy areas.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho for three nights before wrapping up our Japan trip.

Pros:
* Location near both JR Yamanote line/山手線 Hamamatsuchō/浜松町 station and the metro Daimon/大門 station. Hamamatsucho is also the starting point of the Tokyo Monorail, which conveniently connects the area to the Haneda airport therefore can be very handy and helpful should you fly into/out of there.
* Rooms were of acceptable size per Japanese standard, appliances and facilities all seemed new as the building itself appeared recently constructed.
* In-room internet access. Hotel could also provide power jack adapter if needed (we forgot to return it before leaving, ended up having to courier it back internationally).

Cons:
* Employees at the reception only able to communicate in very limited English. This could be an issue should you urgently need some help.
* A minor issue just as an FYI as this isn't really a con: The hotel's front door not highly visible from the street if not paying attention (the building itself is a narrow slim one to start with). We walked past it twice failing to notice it. So make sure you look closely.

Overall I consider the hotel well-functional, very conveniently located and in most cases reasonably priced. Probably suit for business and leisure alike. Rating: 3.0 out 5.0.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is great value. While the rooms are small, that's usual for Japan. They are decorated in a modern contemporary style, spotlessly clean with mini fridge, lap top safe, tea making facilities, free internet (not wifi though), robes, slippers and complimentary coffee from the machine in the lobby, where there were also baskets of complimentary essentials such as razor, toothbrush, makeup remover, etc. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the location is fabulous, being only a 2 minute walk to the nearest subway and a five minute walk to the monorail from Haneda airport. Just a couple of tiny negatives ... the beds and pillows are a little hard and while there are a few restaurants in the immediate vicinity, there isn't as much choice as busier areas of Tokyo. However, for the money, this is a great option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed in the Moderate Room. Room was basic but clean. Room size was adequate for one person, might be a bit cramped for two. A thick nightgown was provided instead of pajamas or yukata. Free internet via cable, no wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first four days of our multi-city trip to Japan. It is a great option for people using a JR rail pass (which I highly recommend) as it's close to the JR Yamanote circle line. The nearby Hamamatsucho Station is only 12 minutes from Ueno, 25-30 minutes to Shibuya/Harajuku/Shinjuku, and only a few stops from Tokyo station. Pretty quiet street.

The hotel itself was pretty good but lacked some of the small perks of later hotels. We ended up staying in two MyStays hotels (the other was Kyoto Shijo) and both were of a good standard. It shared many characteristics of other hotels we stayed in - a very firm mattress and hard pillow (seems to be very standard in Japan), a bathroom big enough for only one person at a time, very warm (had to run the air conditioner all the time), free slippers, free toothbrush and other minor toiletries, but no English language TV. Enough room for two small suitcases but not much else. Small fridge with no minibar. Staff had pretty good English language skills and most of the clients were Japanese businessmen, not tourists.

Bonuses compared to other hotels we stayed in: The pay TV movie channel included English versions. Very nice shampoo and conditioner (and lots of it). The bed wasn't pushed against the wall so no accidentally rolling over and banging your elbow.

Negatives compared to other hotels we stayed in: They have free LAN internet but no wifi anywhere in the hotel. Wifi is actually very hard to find in Tokyo - we never found an internet cafe and ended up paying to rent one of their laptops for 1000 Yen per day. Hotel did not offer breakfast but there were plenty of nearby Western cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho

Address: 1-18-14 Hamamatsucho, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0013, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.