We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located Hotel with Staff Barely Speaking English...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho

Save Saved
You added Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho
1-18-14 Hamamatsucho, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0013, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 93 hotels in Minato
Toronto, ON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located Hotel with Staff Barely Speaking English...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed in Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho for three nights before wrapping up our Japan trip.

Pros:
* Location near both JR Yamanote line/山手線 Hamamatsuchō/浜松町 station and the metro Daimon/大門 station. Hamamatsucho is also the starting point of the Tokyo Monorail, which conveniently connects the area to the Haneda airport therefore can be very handy and helpful should you fly into/out of there.
* Rooms were of acceptable size per Japanese standard, appliances and facilities all seemed new as the building itself appeared recently constructed.
* In-room internet access. Hotel could also provide power jack adapter if needed (we forgot to return it before leaving, ended up having to courier it back internationally).

Cons:
* Employees at the reception only able to communicate in very limited English. This could be an issue should you urgently need some help.
* A minor issue just as an FYI as this isn't really a con: The hotel's front door not highly visible from the street if not paying attention (the building itself is a narrow slim one to start with). We walked past it twice failing to notice it. So make sure you look closely.

Overall I consider the hotel well-functional, very conveniently located and in most cases reasonably priced. Probably suit for business and leisure alike. Rating: 3.0 out 5.0.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    88
    24
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
51
57
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is great value. While the rooms are small, that's usual for Japan. They are decorated in a modern contemporary style, spotlessly clean with mini fridge, lap top safe, tea making facilities, free internet (not wifi though), robes, slippers and complimentary coffee from the machine in the lobby, where there were also baskets of complimentary essentials such as razor, toothbrush, makeup remover, etc. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the location is fabulous, being only a 2 minute walk to the nearest subway and a five minute walk to the monorail from Haneda airport. Just a couple of tiny negatives ... the beds and pillows are a little hard and while there are a few restaurants in the immediate vicinity, there isn't as much choice as busier areas of Tokyo. However, for the money, this is a great option.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed in the Moderate Room. Room was basic but clean. Room size was adequate for one person, might be a bit cramped for two. A thick nightgown was provided instead of pajamas or yukata. Free internet via cable, no wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for the first four days of our multi-city trip to Japan. It is a great option for people using a JR rail pass (which I highly recommend) as it's close to the JR Yamanote circle line. The nearby Hamamatsucho Station is only 12 minutes from Ueno, 25-30 minutes to Shibuya/Harajuku/Shinjuku, and only a few stops from Tokyo station. Pretty quiet street.

The hotel itself was pretty good but lacked some of the small perks of later hotels. We ended up staying in two MyStays hotels (the other was Kyoto Shijo) and both were of a good standard. It shared many characteristics of other hotels we stayed in - a very firm mattress and hard pillow (seems to be very standard in Japan), a bathroom big enough for only one person at a time, very warm (had to run the air conditioner all the time), free slippers, free toothbrush and other minor toiletries, but no English language TV. Enough room for two small suitcases but not much else. Small fridge with no minibar. Staff had pretty good English language skills and most of the clients were Japanese businessmen, not tourists.

Bonuses compared to other hotels we stayed in: The pay TV movie channel included English versions. Very nice shampoo and conditioner (and lots of it). The bed wasn't pushed against the wall so no accidentally rolling over and banging your elbow.

Negatives compared to other hotels we stayed in: They have free LAN internet but no wifi anywhere in the hotel. Wifi is actually very hard to find in Tokyo - we never found an internet cafe and ended up paying to rent one of their laptops for 1000 Yen per day. Hotel did not offer breakfast but there were plenty of nearby Western cafes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I liked this place a lot.

It's not in an area w/ lots of tourists but it has a convenient location (close to 2 subway stations, 3 stops to Tokyo Station) plus slick, modern decor; welcoming, helpful staff; compact but comfortable, well-equipped rooms & all very clean & well-maintained. All in all, I thought it was an excellent value.

There is no food service in the hotel but there are convenience stores, a decent selection of restaurants & fast food places in the area. The local restaurants may not have English-language menus & maybe no English-speaking staff so eating can be a bit of an adventure!

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

It's very close to the hamamatsucho station and to the Daimon metro station. If you ate arriving late at night, not many know of the hotel. Get off at the north exit of Hamamatsu cho station. Cross the road and take a left and walk to the corner of the junction. Take a right at the corner and it's 2 buildings away from the family Mart. The location is good - apart from the short walk to both stations - there's also a Lawson's, family Mart and 7-11 next door. They have an additional toiletries counter at the ground floor, in case you need more kinds. The room is compact but right sized. Has all amenities inside . Even a speaker system for your music. All In all, good comfort for the great price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is quite centrally located and very close to Hamamatsucho and Daimon Stations. As we arrived in Tokyo at Haneda Airport quite late, it was ideally located for us, being a short distance from the HM Station after travelling on the monorail from the airport. The hotel itself is very clean, comfortable and quiet. Free coffee and tea were appreciated. We walked to Hama Rikyu gardens and Zozoji Temple is across the road (well worth an evening visit for the temple, paper lanterns and great foodstalls). Plenty of restaurants and superettes nearby. We got a great deal on a double room via Agoda and had we known more about Tokyo, we would have opted to stay on longer at this hotel rather than moving to our pre-booked accommodation in Shinjuku after a 2 night stay (which was about the same price but much lesser quality). Based on the cheap rate we got, I'd really recommend this hotel as value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho

Address: 1-18-14 Hamamatsucho, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0013, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#21 Romantic Hotel in Minato
#23 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel MyStays Hamamatsucho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.