We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing little restaurant at end of an alley way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lauburu

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lauburu
6-8-18 Minamiaoyama, Minato 107-0062, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-3498-1314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #282 of 6,697 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: French, Basque
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
california
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“amazing little restaurant at end of an alley way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

After more than a week in Tokyo,I was ready to take a break from Japanese food and my husband found this restaurant near our hotel. Not easy to find since it does not face a street but worth every minute spent looking for it. The business facing the street says "Catorce",some kind of clothing store so just walk to the end and you have arrieved at one of the most charming little restaurants ever((25 seats), I ordered grilled porc-juicy,tender and matched with the best grilled vegetables I have ever tasted. My husband had the cassulet also excellent. Shared a salad with the lightest dressing ,crisp bread and melting goat cheese. The kitchen is partially opened to views and it looked liked a choreograph dance between the chefs. Also several french-speaking custumers where there and looked like they knew the chef well. Overall a wonderful surprise in Tokyo-highly recommended. Make sure to phone ahead on the weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday. What an absolute delight, and highly authentic rustic French food. My main dish was Alsatian (pork leg) and dessert (custard cake) was yummy. Ordered escargot for the appetizer, which was delicious. My husband's pork pate was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent rustic French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Tucked in a side street, not far from Nishi-Azabu crossing, this is a very memorable rustic style French restaurant specialising in pork, with a long list of variations on that theme. For example I had a Basque style pate starter and for main had confit of pork shoulder with polenta. Some delicious desserts also on offer (at which point there is a break from the porcine theme). Excellent for a business dinner or special romantic occasion. Not cheap but certainly not overpriced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy as a pig in s...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We only found this place after not been able to get a booking for my wife's B'day at any of the Joel Robuchon restaurants .....and I got to say we were most happy that we did. The food is at the other end of the of the spectrum from the many Tokyo modern French cuisine restaurants, with their rich sauces and flash garishes....Lauburu gives you very high quality ingredients that are simply cooked and to cooked perfection.
Only one michelan star? This needs reviewing....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Hidden Michelin star treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The most cozy little French/Bask restaurant with a country farmhouse decor with images of pigs all around, offers a fantastic service, wonderful atmosphere, & delicious bask style food. We've been here on numerous occasions, impressed every time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lauburu also viewed

 

Been to Lauburu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauburu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.