We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lauburu

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lauburu
6-8-18 Minamiaoyama, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0062, Japan
+81 3-3498-1314
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #138 of 6,401 restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: French, Basque
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A hidden gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband took me here for my birthday. What an absolute delight, and highly authentic rustic French food. My main dish was Alsatian (pork leg) and dessert (custard cake) was yummy. Ordered escargot for the appetizer, which was delicious. My husband's pork pate was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    7
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent rustic French”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Tucked in a side street, not far from Nishi-Azabu crossing, this is a very memorable rustic style French restaurant specialising in pork, with a long list of variations on that theme. For example I had a Basque style pate starter and for main had confit of pork shoulder with polenta. Some delicious desserts also on offer (at which point there is a break from the porcine theme). Excellent for a business dinner or special romantic occasion. Not cheap but certainly not overpriced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy as a pig in s...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We only found this place after not been able to get a booking for my wife's B'day at any of the Joel Robuchon restaurants .....and I got to say we were most happy that we did. The food is at the other end of the of the spectrum from the many Tokyo modern French cuisine restaurants, with their rich sauces and flash garishes....Lauburu gives you very high quality ingredients that are simply cooked and to cooked perfection.
Only one michelan star? This needs reviewing....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Hidden Michelin star treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The most cozy little French/Bask restaurant with a country farmhouse decor with images of pigs all around, offers a fantastic service, wonderful atmosphere, & delicious bask style food. We've been here on numerous occasions, impressed every time!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional south-western French cuisine, well priced in a relaxed atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

Let me throw it out there: the best non fancy French restaurant in Tokyo. I know, it's a bold call but let me explain why.

Being a French in Tokyo, I am always looking for authentic food in a nice place that doesn't rip you off for the sake of fanciness. This place serves you excellent mostly pork based dishes, as good as in France, in good sizes, in a nice and relaxed atmosphere and the prices are reasonable (I didn't say cheap).

Specialities:
Andouillettes (tripes sausages), escargots, pork knuckle, confit, pork steak and much more.
Price:
starter ~1000¥, main 2000~3000¥, dessert 700~900¥, wine 8000~12000¥.
Atmosphere:
relaxed, casual.
Service:
Friendly.

Some people would argue that dishes are a bit heavy. True that portions are bigger than Japanese standard, but that enables you to have a starter and dessert and share a main dish if it's too much. You can also go there during winter!

Definitely one of my favorites, I always recommend it and so far, nobody has ever been disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lauburu also viewed

 

Been to Lauburu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lauburu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.