We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Indian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moti

Moti
2-14-31 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-3584-6640
Improve this listing
Ranked #624 of 6,851 Restaurants in Minato
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,510 reviews 1,510 reviews
891 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
666 helpful votes 666 helpful votes
“Very Good Indian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a very good restaurant for authentic Indian cuisine in the Akasaka area. We found it at the recommendation of our hotel concierge. My two colleagues and I went here on a Sunday evening and were all quite satisfied with the experience. We took a taxi from the hotel and had no trouble finding it. It was on the second floor of a building located on a relatively busy street. We were offered a window seat which provided a nice view of the restaurant's environs. We were waited on promptly and the service was quite good all evening. We started with orders of Tandoori Chicken and Somsas as appetizers. Both were quite tasty. For mains, we then tried the Chicken Zanjri, the Keema Mutter Curry and the Prawn Chili. All of them were quite good. The Zanjri was particularly interesting as it was something I had never tried before. It was a terrific tasting chicken curry that featured a mix of cashew nuts, raisins, Indian cottage cheese and peas. The mutton curry was good and the chili prawns were also quite tasty with a reasonable amount of kick. The meal was accompanied by huge pieces of naan bread, as is typical in Indian restaurants in Japan. It seemed like the prices were slightly higher than most Indian restaurants that I have visited in Tokyo but I would not complain given the quality of the fare. In all, if you are in Tokyo and have a craving for Indian cuisine, this place is a good choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Favourite Indian restaurant in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I love visiting at lunch as the restaurant offers a very generous lunch menu with choice of curry, nan or rice and a drink for under 1000 yen. The staff are very attentive, food is fresh (you can see them making the Nans) and the curries are tasty with just the right 'heat'. We've eaten here for dinner, a bit more expensive but excellent. Near the metro & close to other Roppongi attractions.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Vegetarian chicken and tomato chilli”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I followed the previous recommendations... to a complete disappointment. Slightly poky place with sticky tables - in Japan! - was just a minor inconvenience. I ordered extra special hot chicken jalfrezzie, which purported to have fresh green chillies .... There were no chillies, but rather heaps of tomato (ketchup?), hardly any spice, lots of onions but only barely discernbile bits of chicken. The nan was quite good and the basmati rice fairly good. Since the waiter asked, I told him what I thought was wrong with it. After initial apparent surprise he offered to bring more spicy portion with more chicken. The result was medium hot, still overpowered by tomato ketchup, and between the heaps of more onion, there were indeed a few scrawny bits (not pieces) of chicken. After eating a few spoonfuls, I started noting growing bitterness, so I left it at that, paid and went. I wonder what they put in it, as the unpleasant bitter aftertaste was pervasive for hours after.
In summary only the nan was quite good. I would not return even if it were for free.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent service and nice vegetarian food in Roppongi , Tokyo..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is an Indian restaurant which is quite good for vegetarians because it is very difficult to find veg food in Japan . Here Non veg is also available but I dont eat non veg so nothing to describe for Non veg food .
They have very good North Indian as well as south Indian food and everything is like our Delhi taste . Prices are OK as you are in Tokyo .
This restaurant is in Roppongi , you can reach here by train taking the Heibia line from any subway transfer station . Roppongi station no. is H4 , after get down from the train , come out from the Roppongi hills exit and on the same side near the police station , you will find this restaurant in a building . You can go here by lift .
This Roppongi area is well known for its night life in Tokyo . Its a most happening area of Tokyo and you can say of Japan . On friday and saturday , its crowded up to 4 am in the night . Lot of bars , night clubs , restaurants, 24 eleven shop , Family mart , mac d , all are here to eat any dish or drink of the world . Mid of may is very nice weather in Tokyo . Little cold in nigh but lot of people roams in half shirts also .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hands down, the best Indian food in Tokyo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you are eat from a North Indian's sense of taste, then Moti (the one in Akasaka, Tokyo) is THE best place to gorge down heavenly Indian delicacies. The surprise: The range of North Indian styled South Indian dishes such as Dosa's and Vada's... Just the way your local Delhi "hole in the wall makes". The mutton preparations will leave you licking your fingers, chicken tandoori has a unique flavor that makes you jump from your seat. I might have exaggerated a bit but there is a very real chance that you will gain a pound or two in your belly while loosing a few from you wallet...A delight!!! #1 in Indian food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moti also viewed

 

Been to Moti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.