We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Door

The Oak Door
6-10-3 Roppongi | Grand Hyatt Tokyo 6F, Minato 106-0032, Tokyo Prefecture (Akasaka / Roppongi)
+81 3-4333-8784
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 7,771 Restaurants in Minato
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $2
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Akasaka / Roppongi
Description: The Oak Door features premium quality meats and seasonal produce prepared in dramatic oak wood burning ovens. The wine cellar house a large collection of boutique New World wines. This neighbourhood steakhouse is complete with an open kitchen, terrace seating and a private dining room.
Yamato, Japan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have dined here many times, the food is incredible as is the staff. I usually enjoy the Oak Door Burger but have also enjoyed steaks here. The Bar is also awesome.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nintai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food is okay, service is poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Business dinner with 10 people. Food was okay- 6/10. Service was terrible. Servers were never around, and we had to constantly flag them down for attention. Waited over 20 minutes to get a bottle of wine we ordered, after having waited 10 minutes to even order it. Service seems to be a major problem for most of the restaurants in the Grand Hyatt Tokyo.

Flip-side: Atmosphere is gorgeous. Very Japanese with a meld of indoor/outdoor features.

A decent enough restaurant if you're staying at the Grand Hyatt Tokyo and have to eat on-site.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Crazy_GRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

After a refreshing drink (try out their signature Pimms No.1!), we had an excellent dinner outside at the terrace. We started with the Hokkaido Scallops which were deliciously cooked in herbal butter and a tuna tatar. The tuna tatar was a fantastic mix between Western and Eastern flavours, as they use a yuzu butter cream with the guacamole.
As a main course we ordered meat- their Japanese beef is just amazing! I ordered the Kobe sirloin steak and my friend had the Kagoshima beef (both medium rare). Both, especially the Kagoshima, were beautifully tender as I have never experienced it before. The meat was just fantastic- tender as butter! As side dishes we ordered their spinach and some mashed potato.
After all this exquisite food we were pretty full, so we shared a strawberry and rhubarb pie with ice cream, which was a good finish of an amazing dinner.
The service was outstandingly attentive and they could read our wishes from our lips. Their manager gave us an honest and good wine and food recommendation. We really appreciated a service, where the guest is still the king.
We enjoyed a wonderful evening in the beautiful Oak Door with great food, impeccable service and a lovely atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ladybird2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How it should be in an exclusive restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I had dinner there and enjoyed myself very much, amazing food, service and ambiance! It is certainly an exclusive place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaune, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Make a reservation before”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Always busy. Best steaks ... and lobsters... service impeccable. I just regret sometime that they don't have a full wine list like in the other restaurants.... but you can ask.... the special task will delivered... you are in a real 5 stars hotel

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Door also viewed

 

Been to The Oak Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing