We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessentially Japanese experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills

Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills
6-12-2 Roppongi | Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka-dori 3F, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-5413-6626
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 6,506 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Quintessentially Japanese experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Living in California, we get plenty of sushi, however, quite a lot of it is prepared by non-Japanese or chefs who have learned sushi as a cook.

Experience fish prepared by someone who has spent their life learning an art was quite fun. Sukiyabashi Jiro welcomes visitors. They asked if we wanted to start with sashimi or sushi, and if there were anythings we didn't eat.

This was real, traditional sushi. No avocado, no fruits, no deep fried anything. We got a chance to try items that aren't served elsewhere, some very traditional items such as kohada and shako which I'd only seen books.

The food was great. Part way through, I was getting full and asked if they could make smaller portions so I could enjoy all the fishes, they happily adjusted the size of the nigiri. The tamago was the most amazing thing - I've never eaten anything like it. It was light and airy like a sponge cake.

It's expensive, you need to look at this more of a cultural experience and not just a meal. It's a window into Japanese culture. Also, you need to understand the variety of sushi for the Japanese: it's not textures and tastes. Everything from clean bright flavors to oily "fishy" fish and a variety of clams and shellfish. It's not for everyone but its exceptional for others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    14
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Give me a break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well I had to go to this shrine. We got a Rez through our hotel and we went for lunch. Once we walked in the daggers where out and we couldn't feel more uncomfortable. We tried to,order what we wanted but after calling the hotel to get the translation we where told its a set menu of 8 pieces NO substitutes for 250. We had it and it was mostly great and then went down the road to,eat more because we where starving. I guess you have to try it but I recommend you watch the movie and try the many other great sushi joints.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked a lunch after seeing the movie about Jiro Ono. We decided to go for the son's restaurant as the original branch does not take reservations in English, and is generally know for not being particulary foreigners-friendly. It was a good choice, as I'm sure that our taste is not sophisticated enough to be able to taste the difference anyway ;-) The experience was great and very different from what we have tried before - even in Japan where we have been 3 times before. Focus on FRESH ingredients - for instance wasabi root was grated just in front of our eyes! And we have tried fish that we haven't heard of before. There was not a lot of talk with the chief as his English is apparently limited (he focused on talking with two Japanese customers), but we exchanged some remarks with his right hand. Generally very special experience. Drinks were a bit expensive though - in terms of value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It's Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our trip to Tokyo was a last minute decision consequently we had no expectations to get a reservation. Much to our delight the hotel was successful in securing us a 5:30pm booking. We had not seen the movie however have heard through the grapevine enough to want to have the experience. It most certainly proved a unique and memorable encounter. We started with the sashimi and then progressed to the sushi. The menu was a journey in flavour and texture. It was a symphony for the palate; a true umami experience. The 20 pieces course defeated me, luckily the teenage son was able to provide the necessary support. Takashi and his team made the experience memorable in every way. While there was a great deal of focus on producing these little pieces of heaven, they were engaging with the customers, making for a jovial and warm experience. The dinner lasted 1.5 hours providing us with magical memories. Firstly an enormous thank you to Jiro Ono for his passion, commitment and perfectionism. Secondly, a great thank you to his son for carrying on the family tradition and for making this one of the most memorable dining experience of our lives! Highly recommended! Must watch the film now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
760 reviews 760 reviews
429 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“Shrine of sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation at this roppongi branch via the hotel . Situated at the posh roppongi hills area, the restaurant is a bit of a walk under the hot summer sun. But upon entering the sushi shrine, all the effort is worth it. There is basically only jiro's son and 2 assistants running the place. There were only 5 of us for the 1130 lunch slot in this 10 seater restaurant. I think they are full for the 1pm slot

For lunch, there are 15 pieces of sushi, all delicious. The anago (sea eel), maguro (tuna), otoro (semi fatty tuna), uni (sea urchin) , bonito (smoked tuna) and tomago (egg) are stand outs. At the end, they did try to upsell by offering some of their dinner items at an extra price. we didn't take up their offer. i also thought this was unusual

Are they distinctly better than the best sushi restaurants i've tried elsewhere in japan, hongkong or singapore? I can't tell much difference among all those in the top tier, they are all very good. But to call jiro overrated or underwhelming is just silly

The meal ends with the egg and that's it. Jiro's son and his assistants have decent english, were quite chatty and rather humorous. Will i return? Definitely

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills also viewed

 

Been to Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.