We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills

Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills
6-12-2 Roppongi | Roppongi Hills Keyakizaka-dori 3F, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
+81 3-5413-6626
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 6,427 restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Ate at jiro in subway station , very serious place not much talking and sushi was good but overhyped. There is no way this is best sushi in the world . I am a sushi aficionado and this is overrated. I left wondering why I spent so much money. There are things on menu you may not like and if you do not you do not get a replacement.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    51
    13
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalisz, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oishii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you hadn't watched jiro dreams of sushi you probably woudln't noticed that place, thats why you have to spent a lot of money, but besides the price this is the best sushi I have ever eaten.
Menu is determined by sushi master and you have to book single place 3-4 month earlier but for this delicious fresh and well balanced taste you will do everything you can.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If money is no object then this is a place to go. Try to go hungry because there are an I credible number of courses. Best sushi I have ever eaten. My favorites were the three course tune starting with leanest and ending with the fat belly. The scallops were another memorable addition - both baby and collossal. It was all beautifully prepared, seasoned and absolutely delicious. The bill is outrageous so be prepared to spend in excess of $300 per person There is no ituzation so they charge you dependent on market prices that day (presumably).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We couldn't wait to go this restaurant after seeing the movie Jiro Dreams of Sushi. The rest of the people at the restaurant also had all seen the movie and come from many places around the world to eat here. The atmosphere was convivial, the food needless to say was extremely fresh and well prepared. I would like to note however that diners should not expect a grand dining experience, decor, etc. when going to this restaurant. Rather it is all about the fish and preparation techniques.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It really was an awesome experience that we will not forget. We love the mastery of the craft that Jiro has done here at his namesake restaurant.
We went with sashimi... We ate and ate and ate some more. I had to start eating my wife's as she was getting full fast.
We moved on to sushi and glad we did as the rice was really unbelievably delicious.
Thanks we loved it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills also viewed

 

Been to Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukiyabashi Jiro Roppongi Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.