We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi)

Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi)
5-3-4 Roppongi Minato-ku | Daiichi Renu Building 2F, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-3408-5040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #193 of 6,475 Restaurants in Minato
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fresh and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This Japanese restaruant has all the ingredient in front of you, you pick whatever you want, and the chefs cook right in front of you by either grill or steam, it is not only fresh but also healthy! It is fun because you see how the food is cooked, and when the food is cooked they use this long wooden spoon like object to bring the food to you by streaching it across the table, so you get an idea of what others are having. Even if you speak no Japanese it is easy to order, you just point to what you want and they will cook it for you.

I don't know what is the price range for this restaurant, because I was treated by my friend. Judging by the freshness and variety of food, I would think it is not cheap, but definitely worth going to. It would be a fun and tasty experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    3
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Eat Well Leave Happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you do not enjoy this experience, something is wrong with you. Well staffed, with extraordinary food, should not miss this restaurant if you are in the area. Be careful! No prices on the menu, so you are going to spend some money. Great experience with friends, family, and even children! Wow, I cannot say enough good things!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The atmosphere is wonderful its a MUST do for visitors to Japan. The food is fresh and great too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fun dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

When you enter the chefs and staff will greet you by yelling out a greeting. 2 chefs sit on a raised platform and they prepare all of the food. In front of the chefs are today's fresh offerings. Vegetables, meat, fish, tofu or whatever are arranged before you. You simply pick what you want and the chefs grill or otherwise prepare it. At each step the various staff yell out things, but since I don't speak Japanese I don't know what they were yelling.

Everything is fresh and excellent and you can't go wrong here. Only issue is that this place is pricey $150+ per head.

Be sure to buy the chefs a beer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Once in a One of a kind experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

I have to second the review 'wow than ouch'
The moment you stepped into it the restaurant, you are impressed with almost anything there from the greetings, setting to the way the food is prepared and served.

The chefs are seated on a platform as high as the table and we sat around it; fresh food are spread around you, I am not sure if they have a menu, we was not given one and just pointed the food we want to the chef for him. He will picked them up, clean up and put on the grille.

We had wagyu cubes on skewer; skipped the matsutake mushroom which was recommended. tiger prawns. A tiger prawn to share and a few other small itemeg ginko nuts, chili etc.

One could spend a long time there as the chefs are quite entertaining and it's a wonderful experience to watch so closely how you food are prepared in such simple manner. A place that bring friend or family back but I will be careful with what to order.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi) also viewed

 

Been to Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roppongi Inakaya (Higashi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.