We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka to your Saves list
Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-12-3 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My girlfriend and I (along with a couple we were travelling with) spent 3 nights at the Centurion Residential Akasaka Hotel.

This is a small, clean comfortable hotel with extremely friendly and helpful, english-speaking staff.

Akasaka is much quieter than areas such as Shibuya & Shinjuku so it's a good place to find a quieter bar or restaurant to relax and recharge

The hotel room was a litte bright at night, and you do get some street noise but not too bad - This is made up for with a very comfortable bed and a great shower.

This hotel isn't big on frills, however is perfect if you are looking for somewhere to stay while you spend the majority of your time out and about exploring Tokyo.

The front and back entrances of the hotel put you directly onto walking streets with plenty of nearby restaurants and bars in either direction you walk - it's also a 5 minute walk (probably less) from 2 separate subway stations with plenty of taxi waiting areas nearby if you need.

Our group agreed that we'd look to stay here again on our next visit to Tokyo, nice comfortable hotel and great price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    22
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
16
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked this hotel mainly for the location (which was great) - the photos looked alright and the price was reasonable but there were big flaws. Sure the location is great and for the price (60€ / night) you can't ask for great luxury but it was below our standards: the room was not clean enough (specially the shower), the bed was incredibly uncomfortable and it was hard to sleep at night because we could hear the music from the corridor.
The staff were nice and tried to answer our questions but they weren't of much help as their English was poor.

The "complimentary" breakfast was the worst I have ever seen - the only thing I could eat were the overly ripe tangerines. No bread, no milk, no yoghurt... Just miso soup and some bad looking scrambled eggs & sausages.

I wouldn't stay there again, but it was ok for two nights.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Centurion residential is a Bargain in Tokyo. It is located on a side street where all the ENTERTAINMENT of Akasaka is to be found.
A bottle of wine is placed int eh room each day of our stay. The shower is something out of a space movie. I didn't wish to leave the shower - my own SPA in my room.

Room Tip: Request a 2 bedroom if there are more than 2 travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location of this hotel or even small serviced apartment (the rooms had fridge, sink, clothes washing machine). Right on your doorstep are a myriad of bars and eateries and there's always life on the street, making it feel very safe to walk. Staff were friendly and helpful (with excellent English). Breakfast was good with a small but sufficient buffet of eggs, juices, coffee, tea, croissants as well as more Japanese fare. The room was small but clean and well equipped. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a great power shower. Only downside was the stale smell of smoke (in a non-smoking room), and even though we left the window open all day it never left the room. But hey, this is Japan, and we weren't too surprised by this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Almost everything at this hotel is better than what you'd expect at a sub $100 hotel. Yes, the rooms are really small but this is Tokyo.

But, if you're not a smoker, the odor in the hotel and the room will make you nauseous. I'm not exaggerating. I'm not particularly sensitive about the smell of smoke, hell, I myself smoke every once in a while. I usually don't mind it. But I simply could not sleep here due to the lack of fresh air (no windows either).

I hate to give it a 2 star review because I think everything else was pretty good. But the overall quality of my stay was terribly hampered by the smokiness. So I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location for an American on his first visit to Tokyo! Safe neighborhood, great value, will definitely stay here again...

Dozens of English friendly late-night restaurants/bars, which is great since the trains stop at midnight. Hit up this great Izakaya two doors down on the corner and say hello to AkiHiro! There's 2 english pubs close-by (82 Ale House, the Mermaid). For American comforts there's a McDonalds, Hooters, and Starbucks 5 min walking distance.

For cash, you have a Citbank/7-11 nearby for ATMs that take foreign debit cards. Most businesses will take cards, but your bank will charge for foreign transactions. Best to have Yen on hand.

Not much shopping to be done here, but Shibuya/harajuku is only 5 stops away. Night life is relaxed and not Shinjuku crazy.

5-minute walk to Akasaka-mitsuke station. From here you can board 5 different lines on the Tokyo Metro. The Ginza line got me directly everywhere as opposed to the Yamanote Loop. Be sure to get a Pasmo rail card. Everybody has them and saves time figuring out how much to pay.

Staff is super-friendly and speak good english (one guy was from Chicago). Check in time took only 2 min. They will also watch your bags if you have an evening flight. Every time you leave the hotel, you need to leave your room key with the front desk, which is common.

The hotel is modern, boutique, and in a lively neighborhood. My room had a Full size bed and was way roomier compared to a similar hotel I stayed at prior in Ueno. Even had extra pillows and comforter on hand. Also had a closet w/hangers! Which I hear is rare in Tokyo. But I suggest no more than two adults w/3 luggage at most. If you have kids, get a bigger room.

Kitchenette, washer/dryer, desk space, and flat screen tv included. No wi-fi (typical in Tokyo) so bring a laptop with an ethernet jack. Sorry iPads! They also have a free, small breakfast buffet until 1030am in the attached bar/cafe.

Long story short, you'll love it here!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th/6th floor are quieter from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is very modern, the shower/whole bathroom is amazing, and it has a great location!! It is Japan, so it was very small and you had to pay extra for cable and internet. The breakfast seemed like a nice spread although, as an American I cannot eat miso soup and fish that early. Everyone was super friendly!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka

Address: 3-12-3 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Tingo so you can book your Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.