We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka

Save Saved
You added Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3-12-3 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 93 hotels in Minato
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location of this hotel or even small serviced apartment (the rooms had fridge, sink, clothes washing machine). Right on your doorstep are a myriad of bars and eateries and there's always life on the street, making it feel very safe to walk. Staff were friendly and helpful (with excellent English). Breakfast was good with a small but sufficient buffet of eggs, juices, coffee, tea, croissants as well as more Japanese fare. The room was small but clean and well equipped. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a great power shower. Only downside was the stale smell of smoke (in a non-smoking room), and even though we left the window open all day it never left the room. But hey, this is Japan, and we weren't too surprised by this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    19
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
15
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Almost everything at this hotel is better than what you'd expect at a sub $100 hotel. Yes, the rooms are really small but this is Tokyo.

But, if you're not a smoker, the odor in the hotel and the room will make you nauseous. I'm not exaggerating. I'm not particularly sensitive about the smell of smoke, hell, I myself smoke every once in a while. I usually don't mind it. But I simply could not sleep here due to the lack of fresh air (no windows either).

I hate to give it a 2 star review because I think everything else was pretty good. But the overall quality of my stay was terribly hampered by the smokiness. So I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Perfect location for an American on his first visit to Tokyo! Safe neighborhood, great value, will definitely stay here again...

Dozens of English friendly late-night restaurants/bars, which is great since the trains stop at midnight. Hit up this great Izakaya two doors down on the corner and say hello to AkiHiro! There's 2 english pubs close-by (82 Ale House, the Mermaid). For American comforts there's a McDonalds, Hooters, and Starbucks 5 min walking distance.

For cash, you have a Citbank/7-11 nearby for ATMs that take foreign debit cards. Most businesses will take cards, but your bank will charge for foreign transactions. Best to have Yen on hand.

Not much shopping to be done here, but Shibuya/harajuku is only 5 stops away. Night life is relaxed and not Shinjuku crazy.

5-minute walk to Akasaka-mitsuke station. From here you can board 5 different lines on the Tokyo Metro. The Ginza line got me directly everywhere as opposed to the Yamanote Loop. Be sure to get a Pasmo rail card. Everybody has them and saves time figuring out how much to pay.

Staff is super-friendly and speak good english (one guy was from Chicago). Check in time took only 2 min. They will also watch your bags if you have an evening flight. Every time you leave the hotel, you need to leave your room key with the front desk, which is common.

The hotel is modern, boutique, and in a lively neighborhood. My room had a Full size bed and was way roomier compared to a similar hotel I stayed at prior in Ueno. Even had extra pillows and comforter on hand. Also had a closet w/hangers! Which I hear is rare in Tokyo. But I suggest no more than two adults w/3 luggage at most. If you have kids, get a bigger room.

Kitchenette, washer/dryer, desk space, and flat screen tv included. No wi-fi (typical in Tokyo) so bring a laptop with an ethernet jack. Sorry iPads! They also have a free, small breakfast buffet until 1030am in the attached bar/cafe.

Long story short, you'll love it here!

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th/6th floor are quieter from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is very modern, the shower/whole bathroom is amazing, and it has a great location!! It is Japan, so it was very small and you had to pay extra for cable and internet. The breakfast seemed like a nice spread although, as an American I cannot eat miso soup and fish that early. Everyone was super friendly!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Pros: Cool bathrooms, washer/dryer in the room, super nice staff that spoke very little english, perfect location for nightlife, complementery internet (no wifi), coffee & tea. Convenient location to the subway, any cuisine you could want, shopping, banking, etc. The shampoo, conditioner and body wash were fantastic!

Cons: Tiny rooms. Double is up against the wall with no room to move around. Our bed sagged in the middle. Bathrooms but not very clean. There was some mold in the cracks. Washer/dryer combo in room took 4 hours to dry 3 pairs of blue jeans. No English speaking TV channels. Our rooms were on the 4th floor (401 & 403) and the nightlife was loud! If you are wanting to go to bed early, ask for a room on the other side of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Booked this hotel at got it below $150 per night, which worked out great in Tokyo. It's relatively new, design-boutique hotel...which almost appeared to be emerging to a "Love Hotel" as well, but not a big deal.

Pros: Great value, it's located in a busy pedestrian street with lots of restaurants & cafes, very convieniet. 2 mins away from Akasaka Metro Station. Great shower & amenities. Heated toilet seat, I love it.

Cons: Room too small, the streets can get loud at night. Lots of bars/pubs next door so you can hear people at night. Wasn't really a big deal though. There's a small kitchen & laundry machine, but no cutleries, plates or any of that sort.
Also, there wasn't much to see or do in "Akasaka", high end shops, very commercial, etc.....but we wanted to try another neighborhood since we were in Japan for 2 weeks.

Would I return? YES. Good price and pretty central.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Stayed in the Centurion Akasaka from 8~14 Aug alone.
I am a lady traveler and this is my 5th time to Japan and first time stay in this hotel.

Decided to go with Agoda as it offered the best rates for my stay@USD95/night and was convinced by the hotel pictures and reviews gathered from the web. Was truly happy with my choice and checking-in was a breeze~ All I had to do was show my passport and Voucher (emailed to me via Agoda upon payment) and I was up in my room the next thing I know. There wasn't a room card system in place yet and I was handed a key upon check-in. Gotta hand it back at Reception each time I go out and retrieve back upon return. Not a big hassle though.

The room was cozy with warm orange light and comes with a mini kitchenette, fridge, washing machine and free LAN service though the last one was available in most Japanese hotels. A nice touch though as I am one who relies on alot on the Internet, considering I am traveling alone :)

The bathroom is equipped with a shower stall that emits blue light and pretty high-tech where music can be played. Rainshower style and I love the shampoo, conditioner and body cream. It's fruity and product range is 'KALAHARI' from the Japanese brand Pola~ Wanna get them online back here but realized they are only available in commercial size.
As usual, Japanese toilets comes with lotsa buttons and features and the one I had even have a 'wood-like' designed cover :)

Bed was comfortable and tucked in one corner next to the window. I had a walk-in closet and it's pretty roomy with an additional comforter. Well, the comfortable did not come in handy this time as we had the hottest summer in Japan. One thing missing was a full-length mirror even though there was one rectangular-shaped half-body mirror near the TV and one more in the bathroom. I have to check my outfit out only at the full-length mirror next to elevator. I guess each floor will have 1 of these mirrors.

Staff@Reception was pretty courteous and in my 6-day stay, I saw 5 staff, 3 were Japanese with pretty good knowledge in English. 1 was a Korean lady with good English and another is a Chinese lady who can speak Korean and Mandarin :)

The nearest train station was Akasaka-Mitsuke under Tokyo Metro and it's just a 5min walk from the hotel, just turn left after hotel exit and straight down. Lotsa bars, restaurants and 2 convenience stores along the way on both sides. One thing unavoidable will be noise from drinking crowd in the area at night... sometimes it may last until 2am or so. I once heard someone singing a full Japanese oldie *twice* in 1 night. He must be pretty high and there were even clapping in the end.

I took the Limousine Bus from Narita and alighted at Akasaka Excel Hotel Tokyu which is just a 7-10min walk from Centurion. Gotta cross a huge junction and once you see McDonalds on the 2nd street, just take a left and walk down.

Akasaka-Mitsuke Station is very convenient and as I bought the 6000yen promo package from Narita (Return Limo trips + 2-day Tokyo Metro Pass), it was a breeze traveling... Shinjuku-3chome station was just 4 stops away, Ginza Line & Marunouchi Line go most places and transiting at big stations like Shinjuku/Shibuya was easy.

Centurion Akasaka is like a mini Service Apartment/boutique hotel style~ I have enjoyed my stay alot and will certainly come back to Centurion the next time I am in Tokyo~ :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka

Address: 3-12-3 Akasaka, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 93 hotels in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centurion Hotel Residential Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.