We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Business Than Pleasure?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo
2-3-4 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011 , Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“More Business Than Pleasure?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a nice, budget hotel only a few minutes walk from the monorail station. Our Japanese friend booked this for us & we had quiet, corner rooms with kettle, fridge etc & free water bottles. There are no English-speaking tv channels but excellent wifi which kept us amused on our short, one night stay. In general, the staff were very pleasant & helpful but not equipped with much English nor any sightseeing materials in English - although they did look for us. However, we did find one female member of staff with excellent English & she was extremely helpful with a booking for a bus tour round Tokyo as well as lots of other little bits of information. She even came up to the room to help us decide what we should see & do. There was also a luggage storage service which we may good use of. This does seem to be more of a business hotel than a tourists hotel, but having said that it was great for our purpose.
Leaving the hotel, a few minutes to the left will bring you to a lovely temple with some interesting statues etc. Also whole lines of shrines dedicated to babies & children, decorated with red hats, scarves & windmills etc. Minutes to the right & in the main street as well as in streets further back there are many of cafes & restaurants. We found a bijou beer bar near the station which served food as well as lovely ice cold beer. We also found a nice Seattle Coffee place on Sunday morning, a minute or so to the left. However, if you like Starbucks, then this is directly underneath the hotel & there is a small supermarket opposite. All in all a great location for a short stay.

Room Tip: Worth requesting a corner room which gives a bit more space. But all the rooms seem to be different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
23
20
39
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in 907 and 908. It's very good experience. The only complaint would be the direction of the air condition - the cold air would flow directly to the head when sleeping. We like the design of relaxing room and the massage chair really helps. The location is good and close to the subway. The wifi service is ok. The cleaness of the room is also good, and we like the coffee quality provided in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Hotel Comsoleil is an excellent budget hotel. As you can expect the rooms are tiny but this is pretty standard for Tokyo on a budget. The staff are polite and friendly and can speak some English. The rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped. I was travelling on business therefore was own my own and so I didn’t feel the room was too small however it may be too small for a couple, the bed touches two walls with ~1.5m around the bed as your only free space. The hotel doesn’t have a restaurant however it provides all it’s guests with Starbucks vouchers (which is on the ground floor) so that you can grab breakfast/snacks when you like. If you’re on a budget I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Comsoleil is a hidden gem of Tokyo. It is located in Daimon, about 3 minutes walk to Daimon subway station. Daimon is on the Oedo line and it is super convenient. It is quite new (it is opened around 2007 i think) and the price is reasonable. (about 10K - 14K yen for a single room).
However, the room is very small, but it is very clean and the furniture is so new that you will enjoy your stay there. Also, the japanese is very good with the interior design and every inch of the room is used. So you have everything you need for your stay.
It has free internet access, which is great for business travellers.
For breakfast, there is a starbucks on the ground floor. Also, 24 hours convenient store, McDonald, Yoshinoya and CoCo Curry is only 3 - 5 mins away. You won't be hungry 24/7.
All in all, it's dirt cheap, for a spotless room and convenient location. It is also quite close to Tokyo Tower (about 20 mins walk) and you can see the Tower at the hotel entrance.
Note: you can reserve through their website, which I think only available in Japanese. However you can write them an email directly in English for reservation.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo

Address: 2-3-4 Shibakoen, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 105-0011 , Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Minato
#14 Business Hotel in Minato
#21 Family Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Comsoleil Shiba Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.