We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for those who travel fequently.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mystays Akasaka

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mystays Akasaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mystays Akasaka
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-17-54 Akasaka | (Former Weekly Mansion Akasaka), Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 93 hotels in Minato
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for those who travel fequently.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I choose to stay that this hotel (this is my second stay) due to the proximity of the train stations and the friendly staff.

Please be aware that this is a "no frills" hotel. You get a small fridge, hotplate and water kettle and TV with 3 English channels (CNN, FOX and Discovery).

In addition, this is a "your mamma don't work here so clean up after yourself" setup. Take out your own trash, make your own bed, wash your own clothes and wash your own towels.

Now, I have read the other reviews and found them to be a bit unfair. Granted, those people may not have known what they were getting in to, but that is no excuse in being rude about it.

If you are used to being waited on, hand and foot, the Intercontenental is very close...for much more.

If the price sounds right, you don't plan in lounging around in your hotel room and you don't mind the things that I have mentioned, you will have a very pleasant stay. Please enjoy it as I have.

I know that I will be back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-akasaka, Receptionist at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We are very pleased that you chose our hotel again for your stay in Tokyo.
Your comment about our staff is deeply appreciated.

As you reviewed, our hotel is conveniently located in the central Tokyo area.
There are several subway stations within walking distance, and famous shopping areas such as Shibuya and Omote-sando are easily accessible from our hotel.

There are several things about our hotel which may be different from other hotels (as you have mentioned), such as the policy about room cleaning during extended stay.
Please understand that it is a part of ways to make your stay at our hotel more reasonable, economically .

Thank you very much for taking your time sharing your thoughts.
We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Mystays Akasaka.

Nobuhiko Akimoto
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    84
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
32
35
47
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a spacious corner room and were impressed with the size (considering the space at other hotels for more expensive). I recommend getting a corner room and paying the extra 30$ for it. I had a great trip and booked it through Booking.com (which seemed to be cheaper than at the property itself). The rooms did not feel 100% clean to be honest, the bathroom was so tiny- you can literally use the toilet, wash your hands and shower at the same time. The bathroom was made out of complete plastic (never seen one quite like this in my life).

I would recommend this for a short stay, when traveling with friends (not for business or leisure trips).

Room Tip: Corner rooms only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-akasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hotel Mystays Akasaka during your recent visit to Tokyo. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the overall room size. Please note that corner rooms are priced the same as the interior rooms of the same type at Hotel Mystays Akasaka. So you do not need to pay extra charges for having a corner room. There are 14㎡ to 80㎡ spacious rooms and you may consider it for your next reservation. The room rate of hotel's official home page was not expensive at the time you made your reservation. However we might have changed our room rates when you check it after you checked in. Also we do have different types of packages for your short stays and also long stays. Please accept our apology that the room did not meet your expectations regarding cleanliness. We further keep working hard and discuss with our cleaning staff to improve on room cleanliness. Admittedly bathrooms are small; this is a very common problem hotels face in urban Japan and also for Hotel Mystays at this price point. However, if we have a chance, we would like to renovate our bathrooms. We are extremely grateful that you took time out of your busy schedule to share this wonderful feedback. We hope that an opportunity arises in the future to accommodate your next visit; The Mystays staff would put their fullest effort into making your visit more comfortable.

Perera Laksri
Reception clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

It's not really a hotel but an old or very old apartment building, the rooms are dusty and that's being polite, they are cold and damp and could do with a deep clean. When I asked for more heating I was bluntly told to come down and get some blankets.
Internet didn't work in the room so everybody crowded around the lobby.
Best thing about this hotel was... I only stayed one night

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ホテルマイステイズ赤坂, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
.Thank you very much for staying at Hotel MyStays Akasaka.
We are deeply sorry that we did not meet your expectations.
As you mentioned, the room should be warm enough for all the guests to feel comfortable inside.
We regret that we did not provide appropriate service when we were informed that the heater did not work well. We should have come up to your room to inspect it immediately or offered you another room if there was no other solution.
We have also talked with our staff and stressed the importance of our guest service.
Regarding the internet connection, unfortunately Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby area at the moment. If we have an opportunity to renovate our rooms, we would like to do our best to take into account as many opinions of our guests as possible.

Again, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us.
For further stays, please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may look after your accommodation needs.

Best regards,
Hikichi,

Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have been several times in Tokyo and the Mystays Akasaka is the best accommodation I've tried. It is located in a central area, with 3 metro lines easy to reach, especially with spacious room for Japanese standards (I booked a single type "C" that is really a double, of 25 square meters) and equipped with kitchenette, nearby there is a 24 hour supermarket. The only comment I would make is that in the rooms there is only the LAN connection and not wifi, however available in the lobby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-akasaka, Reception Clerk at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We are very pleased that you chose our hotel for your accommodation in Tokyo
and very proud to have such a warm comment.
As you reviewed, our hotel is located in such a convenient place.
Although all 3 stations are for subway you can easily access to JR line from Akasaka station.
Single room type C is favored by many guests because of its width and storage spaces.
Convenient store is located right next to the hotel
and there are 2 supermarkets within 5-minute walk and open for 24 hours.
Akasaka area has many restaurants with various nationalities
such as Chinese, Korean, Vietnamese, Italian, Indian, and of course Japanese.
Famous shopping areas such as Shibuya and Omote-sando are easily accessible from our hotel. We are always willing to assist our guests so please feel free to ask our staff anytime.
On the other hand, we are terribly sorry for the inconvenience about Wi-fi.
It is hard to change immediately but we will make sure to set it up
when we have a chance for remodeling.

Thank you very much once again for taking your time sharing your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Mystays Akasaka.

Saki Fujimoto
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

this was better than i anticipated, especially at the price. came as a group so didn't personally choose to stay here. very friendly and helpful staff. good location near subways and grocery, restaurants. beds much comfier than i imagined with fluffy comforters. yukata and everything you need to eat and cook in the room (pots, pans, utensils, plates, cups). twin c (largest twin) is fairly large with a sitting area but the bathroom is tiny. i kept banging my elbow into the shower wall. everyone in our group had twin c, but i happened to get a corner room with wrap-around balcony and three sliding doors (which was an -01 room). the bad thing about rooms on that side is they face a larger street and can be noisy at night. washer 100yen and dryer 100yen per 15min plus 100yen detergent.

some cons--the carpeting looks and feels scary. bring your own slippers. even tho there are no non-smoking rooms, our room did not smell like smoke but i think the carpet was emitting a funky dirty feet smell. there is no wifi in the guestrooms and there's a regular gathering in the lobby to get wifi. there is ethernet in the guestrooms but those with tablets and handhelds might have trouble connecting.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room for more windows, if some street noise doesn't bother you at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-akasaka, Hotel Mystays Akasaka Front Staff at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Mystays Akasaka.
We are glad to hear you spent a good time and thank you very much for the complement to our staff.
However we are terribly sorry for the carpeting in your room. We will put more effort on cleanliness and make sure all guestrooms are comfortable place to stay. We are also sorry for causing inconvenience due to unavailability of wi-fi at guest floors. Many guests especially from abroad have the same opinion. Unfortunately we cannot solve this problem immediately but if we have an opportunity for remodeling in near future we will definitely improve this.
Twin room C types, with 35sq.m, are located at the corner facing main road, or in the middle of floor, and microwave and dining table are set in the room (usually microwave is for rent with extra charge).
Guestrooms in our hotel are convenient for both guests staying short term and long term. All rooms come up with a small kitchen with kettle and pan; plates, bowls and cutleries are also available at the front desk. Laundromat is also available at the lobby for 24hours. As you mentioned in the review, there is no originally non-smoking room in our hotel but we can air and deodorize prior to your arrival so please do not hesitate to inform us.

Thank you very much once again for sharing your comments and we hope to welcome you again for your next trip to Tokyo.

Saki Fujimoto
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were great. Clean place. Sub AU$100 per night. Very friendly and helpful staff. Close enough to anywhere we wanted to go. Definitely recommend this place.

Was able to keep the costs for the trip down low. Even though all the rooms are smoking, they don't smell or anything.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-akasaka, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for staying at Hotel MyStays Akasaka.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
As you mentioned, we are located in the heart of Tokyo and have good access to transportation,so you can go any sightseeing places in Tokyo area easily!

We look forward to your future stay with us. Again,thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in Mystays in July 2013. Location is convenient and rooms are comfortable. Staff are nice and friendly. I asked for a few things like a longer internet wire and they provided these immediately. Bed and furnitures are comfortable. Toilet was small, may be as per Japanese standards, but absolutely fine for my needs. The building sure looks old but I don't see much issue in that. Lot many restaurants nearby. For me, a few Indian restaurants as well. I'll recommend 'Moti Restaurant' for Indianstyle dinner.

Room Tip: I'm sorry, don't have much idea of other rooms, locations etc. I thinks all rooms are fine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wm-akasaka, Hotel Mystays Akasaka Front Staff at Hotel Mystays Akasaka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Mystays Akasaka for your stay.
As you reviewed, our hotel is located at such a convenient place for both business and sightseeing. There are many international restaurants around here in Akasaka area as well as Japanese foods and we are sure they can satisfy your appetite.
We are very pleased with your warm comment for our staff. If you need help please do not hesitate to ask our front staff. We are always happy to assist our guests as much as possible.
Our hotel was built a while ago and there have been many opinions from our guests for renovation. We hope to have a renovation in near future and we promise brand-new Hotel Mystays Akasaka will be a more comfortable place to stay.
Thank you very much once again for spending your time sharing your comments.
We hope to welcome you again for your next stay in Tokyo.

Saki Fujimoto
Reception Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Mystays Akasaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystays Akasaka

Address: 2-17-54 Akasaka | (Former Weekly Mansion Akasaka), Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 107-0052, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 93 hotels in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mystays Akasaka 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, BookingOdigeoWL, AsiaRooms, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mystays Akasaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weekly Mansion Tokyo Akasaka Hotel Minato
Hotel Mystays Akasaka Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mystays Akasaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.