We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo to your Saves list
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3-16-18 Shibaura, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-0023, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but needs upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, write near JR line station. Clean rooms, but bathroom very outdated and needs an upgrade. Tv channels need to have more english channels. Reception helpful, local area is ok few 24 hr stores and restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    252
    78
    17
    2
See reviews for
57
56
110
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Room
Much bigger than ordinary chain hotel - you have space to fit your all shopping bags.
We are lucky to enjoy a view looking over the Tokyo Tower and managed to run for the countdown there in just 20 mins close to year 2014.

Location
It's about 8 mins walk to the nearest Tamachi station (a bit far when you go check in with your luggage) but quite close to residential area so it gives you another expereince close to local community.
It's hard to find shopping mall nearby but i found it good to have new experience other than staying in crowded locations like Shinjuku, Ikebukuro etc.

This is my second stay with JAL City Hotel group (first time was at Okinawa) and overall the service is pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this well located hotel in an expensive city.
It is an 8 minute walk from the Tamachi JR train station on the Yamanote line. Take the east exit and walk straight along the road, crossing the small bridge. When you reach a major intersection, turn right and you'll find the hotel one block down from this intersection.
This location was so very convenient for us.....we walked with our luggage to/from the hotel.
We mainly used the Yamanote line to travel to the various tourist sites in Tokyo so it was great that Tamachi station is on the Yamanote line. Shinagawa station is one stop south and Tokyo station is four stops north of Tamachi station.
There are many eateries and supermarkets in this area too.
Our check in was smooth and efficient. Reception staff spoke English well.
Our room was a good size for our three beds - two king singles and a single bed. It was difficult to open two bags at one time in this room but this was not a problem for us. The room was clean and well maintained.
The room came with a safe, a mini fridge, a humidifier, a kettle, Japanese tea sachets, slippers, bathrobes
The bathroom of this room was very big and lovely. The shower recess was about 1x1 metre in size. The toiletries were by Shiseido.
The bus stop for the Rainbow bus to Odaiba ( waterfront shopping and entertainment district) is just near this hotel.
We stayed at this hotel in March 2014.
We will definitely come back to this hotel when we return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel was what one would expect from a large chain brand hotel. Everything was very good, but nothing outstanding. It is convenient 5 minute walk to Tamachi station,. You can see the hotel sign from the station overpass, so it is easy to find. Room was small but adequate, bed was comfortable, bathroom/shower clean and reasonable in size (I have seen smaller in Japan). We did not eat there, there are plenty of cheap noodle shops right by the train staion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Professional and friendly staff.
I had a large deluxe room to myself, a little pricey but well worth it!
The room was of a high quality, and well maintained by the cleaning staff.

This hotel is in an IDEAL location! 5/10 minute walk to Tamachi station which has lines going to Tokyo Station (only a few stops for Shinagawa, Shinjuku + Harajuku etc) and also straight to Yokohama!

The hotel itself was also extremely easy to find, just off a straight road.

I will definitely stay here again, and i would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Hotel JAL City Tamachi is an excellent value in an expensive city. The rooms are small but well maintained and well equipped. Service was good. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Tamachi JR station. For dinner, I highly recommend the small yakatori restaurant directly across the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just a normal hotel close to tamachi station. We slept really good, big bed, bathroom ok, minibar, TV, WiFi in the lobby... Friendly staff. In this part of Tokio it's a bit hard to find a nice restaurant, but there are plenty of bars.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo

Address: 3-16-18 Shibaura, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-0023, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Minato
#17 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the Tokyo bay waterfront area, Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo is only 5-minute walk from JR Tamachi station and 12-minute walk from Shibaura-Futo station on the Yurikamome line. This hotel provides convenient accommodations for both business and leisure travelers. All luxury guest rooms are decorated with European furnishings. There are Japanese, Western, and Chinese restaurants. Meeting rooms and large and small banquet rooms, which can be used for parties and seminars, are also available. The garden chapel in the atrium and the Shinto shrine are available for marriage ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalcity Tamachi Tokyo Minato
Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel JAL City Tamachi Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.