We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryugin

Ryugin
7-17-24 Roppongi, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 106-0032, Japan
+81 3-3423-8006
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 6,402 restaurants in Minato
Price range: $25 - $350
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Modern Japanese restaurant where the food not only tastes good but is presented in a unique and creative fashion.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We traveled to Japan primarily for the purpose of having one of the world's best Japanese dinners. It did not disappoint. The staff was helpful and friendly, with excellent English. The courses were explained and when necessary told how to eat them. Such as one of the desserts, "Two Grapes" which had one on a pick next to another in a bowl. We were to eat the one on the pick whole, first. It turned out to be fizzy carbonated and exploded with flavor in my mouth. The other one had been frozen in liquid nitrogen and was broken open to show a sharp powder which was then covered in a warm sauce by our server. Delightful.

Sure it was expensive, but the autumn seasonal presentation was a delight for all of the senses. Fresh seafood, matsutake mushrooms and abalone, wagyu beef with a warm somehow crispy poached egg over it sukiyaki style, it was all wonderful. The room is small and well decorated. Some things were just perfect, like a slice of pear in ginger. We will always remember this dinner fondly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    38
    16
    3
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Try once and form your opinion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I tried at least 10 times in Ryugin over the last 5 years. I think the restaurant is becoming more arrogant. It's worth trying once as the food is very good and some of the dishes are quite creative. However, it's not cheap and unless you have a large entertainment budget, you will be thinking twice when you want to make the second visit. Again, worth visiting it but I am rating as poor given that I have seen a better days of Ryugin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Good seasonal menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The food was very good, presentation was classy and the restaurant went to the extent of arranging for an English speaking server for us. Wanted to be blown away with the concept of food... just left a tad unfulfilled.... but nonetheless, was a dinner to cherish for some time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Spectacular meal with surprises at each turn. Excellent service from a French waitress so we did not feel left out. Great wine and sake list. Chef even came out to say goodnight to us. True 3 star excellence

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Experimental - Try the a la carte”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If I hadn't gone to Aronia de Takazawa and Les Creations des Narisawa, this would easily be the most incredible meal of my life. While LCN was polished and slow paced, RyuGin was the complete opposite. Elegantly presented food that you recognised, versus experimental food. Food that melted in your mouth, versus food that exploded in your mouth. Is this a bad thing? Not at all, but they are completely different.

I visited ryugin in August 2011, before they received their third star, it was busy then, but I can imagine it will be even harder to get in now. Make a booking on the day (mid-week will increases your chances of getting in) and try the a la carte menu.

I reviewed all three restaurants on my blog:
http://awaywegosydney.blogspot.com.au/2012/08/les-creations-des-narisawa-or-ryugin-or.html

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryugin also viewed

 
Minato, Tokyo
 
Shibuya, Tokyo

Been to Ryugin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryugin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.