We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff and central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-2-8 Shibaura | Mita Twin Building East Wing, Minato 108-0023 , Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels / Ryokan in Minato
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great staff and central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Took advice and got a corner room which was spacious by Japan standards. £105/night with breakfast included was not too bad. Bed was hard but everything clean and tidy. DiY Laundry inexpensive. Staff very good-Rainy season but hotel loaned us umbrellas.My wife's shoe sole came off and I asked at reception where to go to get it fixed. Two minutes later the girl came back with a tube of super glue and fixed it for me - no charge!

Room Tip: get a corner room- rooms are on the 14th - 17th floor only of an office block so far away from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    78
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
49
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hercules, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Fairly close to the Tamachi JR station and the Mita subway station, the bride and I were satisfied by our stay but not blown away. The beds are extremely hard, and the staff has no padding to add to the thing, so we slept on top of the comforter, with the extra blanket over top of us. The sleeping garb they supplied was hopelessly too small for me, but the bride used hers.

Tiny room with TV stuck in a corner so one could not watch it unless lying on your side. Only an ethernet connection in the room (who uses that anymore!?) although there was a Softbank wireless modem behind the TV. Since I only take an iPad anymore due to weight, I had to go to the lobby to check email, etc. Very inconvenient, given there was a modem in the room.

Breakfast was fairly odd for an American Palate, with shredded cabbage and carrots with dressings and smoked fish, rice and soupy looking grains of some kind. Either meatballs, little hotdogs or patties of indeterminate source meat (Beef? maybe). Something square resembling a block of scrambled eggs which I didn't try, and croissants and rolls with butter and jelly. Orange juice and coffee. Fairly good Coffee, by the bye.

The staff was very courteous and helpful, and the rooms were very clean and the price reasonable. You could do a lot worse than staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed to be all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our party of 4 was very happy with the hotel during our stay late April 2014. The mass transit is only a short 10 minute easy walk from the hotel. At the Tamachi station, look for the “red” building which has the hotel on the top floors. You can see the hotel blocks away. The free shuttle from cruise terminal dropped us off at Shinagawa Station. We only needed one stop (Tamachi) on JR Line with our luggage. The friendly hotel staff checked in our luggage early morning allowing us to explore Tokyo.

This hotel is located in mostly a business area. There are many restaurants next to the hotel and others a few blocks away. Many menus have pictures.

Although a gym would be a plus, we are not interested in pool or Jacuzzi for our short stay. Night life was also not on our agenda. For these reasons, the quiet hotel with great value was perfect for us.

Detailed Description:
Hotel Guests – Mostly Japanese. Many business people stay at this hotel and go up to the other floors in building to work. During breakfast, there were very few people wearing casual clothes. Also, the Japanese at the hotel are very polite and quiet. We held our conversation sound level lower than usual. In the 3 days at the hotel, we only noticed one family without black hair. Obviously foreigners, some hotel guests talked with us in the elevator. If you don’t feel awkwardly out of place, you will be fine. The other guests will not stare at you.

Electricity – Outlets accept parallel prongs like those in USA. As with many Asian and European hotels, a slot for hotel key card must be filled for electricity to be operational. I usually put a hotel business card or equivalent to avoid accidentally locking myself out for a momentary task (stepping out to neighbor’s room).

Breakfast Buffet – Variety with rice. All the food on long tables is self serve. There is soup, fish and eggs, etc. The scrambled eggs were not done well enough for me. You can survive without hash brown, bacon and omelets. Chairs and tables are moved into and out of the lobby every day.

Room – Spacious in corner room. For twin beds, we were given a corner room. With two large suitcases, there was plenty of walking space. Room also provided a great view of the city from 2 sides. Refrigerator and coffee maker are located underneath desk.

Bathroom – Large by Japanese standard. The warm toilet seat is something to rave about. My sister who lives in eastern United States wants one for those cold winters. The toilet also has shower or bidet water jet control. Both jets are an interesting experience. The mirror has a large rectangular area that will stay clear during a hot shower. (This encourages guest to keep bathroom door closed or else the hot air will set off the fire alarm.) Corded Phone is available. Many amenities (comb, Q tips, mouthwash, body wash, single blade razor, shaving gel, tooth brush, toothpaste) are refilled every day.

Room Temperature – easy to control the air conditioning with remote control by trial and error. Remote has Japanese characters.

Security – Good. Key must be placed over sensor before glass door leading to elevators open. There is no in-room safe but the Japanese are so honest.

Staff – Friendly with limited English. When luggage was checked in early for holding, a receipt was provided for each room. The luggage for one room was already brought up to room when we returned.

Television – Japanese language. The main channel of interest was CNN with its line news report in English. The Japanese interpretation of English speaking news people ends at midnight. CNN with English is available if you stay up past midnight.

Internet – One guest laptop station is available in lobby. (There is no business center.) The laptop is very slow. (Fortunately, the tourist brochures are nearby to pass the time.) Selecting English on start screen does not provide English on toolbar menus. A printer is connected and front desk will assist you in printout since the menu on laptop is in Japanese. (I did not know if Wi-Fi is available since no device was carried overseas.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for anybody looking to explore Tokyo. It is less than 10 minutes walk from Shinjuku main station which will bring you anywhere you want to go in the city. Spotlessly clean also. You can also walk to some top attractions from here such as the Metropolitan building which has a free view of Tokyo from it's 45th floor.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed for 5 nights on the 17th floor and had a view towards Shinagawa Station - we could also see Mt Fuji on a clear day! The hotel was very well located, quiet area within walking distance (5mins) from the JR and Metro stations. We also walked to the Tokyo Tower - it took us 15-20mins. There was a supermarket across the road and a couple of restaurants. Buffet breakfast was included in the room price - it wasn't fancy, but had both, Japanese and Western dishes to choose from. Wired internet was free in the room. Free WiFi in the lobby. The room itself was very small. We could hardly fit in with our luggage and we only had two small suitcases! Kettle, tea and coffee were provided. There was a flat screen TV, small fridge, desk with a chair, heater/air con. Bed was reasonably big and comfortable. Bathroom was clean and basic toiletries were there. Toilet had a few interesting functions, which proved to be a winner i.e. you could press a button and the toilet seat would be kept warm at all times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi is a nice hotel close to a train station with a nice view of toyko (room 1701). The room was small when you have a couple of suitcases but for Toyko standard it would be one of the larger ones.

The price was good and included breakfast. The breakfast was mixed traditional and western including rice, fish, soups, pickles, egg and a western meat (sausages on day 1, meat patty on day 2 and meatballs on day 3)

Convenience stores and supermarket across the road, many restaurants located nearby, although we didn't eat at any as we we went to Shinjuku, Shibuya and Toyko for more dinner options.

Pro's: Location, friendly staff, laundry, Warm toilet seat, high speed wired internet, small fridge, quiet hotel.

Con's: Lack of English instructions for TV, hard bed, dryer shrunk my T-shirts, VERY small thin bath towels

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip last month and was pleasantly surprised. I didn't select the hotel, my local hosts did, and they picked a good spot. It is a very nice location with easy access to major transit and rail lines. As other reviewers have commented, it is a nice quiet neighborhood and it was nice to retreat here after some of the more hectic parts of town. The hotel is on top of an office building and it is very quiet. The rooms are relatively large for Tokyo with TV, fridge, hot water pot, and other amentiies. The bathroom was in good shape and had a soaking tub. Breakfast in the morning was a mix of traditional Japanese and some European standards. The mattress was a little lumpy otherwise no complaints.

Room Tip: Decent size for Tokyo room. Good bathroom with a soaking tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Address: 4-2-8 Shibaura | Mita Twin Building East Wing, Minato 108-0023 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Tokyo Mita
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.