We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covenient and pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4-2-8 Shibaura | Mita Twin Building East Wing, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-0023 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 92 hotels in Minato
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Covenient and pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here a total of 6 nights - was a great hotel. Very clean and nice and quiet, plus great views across Tokyo. Breakfast selection was good and was only a 5 min walk from Tamachi Station which is a great location for exploring Tokyo. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    73
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
45
13
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is 5 minutes by walk from Tamachi station which is on JR Yamanote line. Check-in was smooth. Healing room was big enough by Tokyo standards, had foot massager. The amenities made it comfortable stay. Internet through LAN was fast. Breakfast was setup in the lobby and had reasonable choice. Overall good place to stay for business travellers.

Room Tip: Go for Healing room or corner premium room. Negotiate the rates well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is probably the link between European ans Japanese standards.
Located in an office building area just 5 minutes walking from the JR line.
No tourist here, no English menus and not to many frills.
Rooms are pretty small but not as small as many Japanese. Breakfast is served in the lobby and is either Japanese (fish, salad and natto) but also European (croissant, butter and coffee).
The mix, I have to say, is not always perfect: you can not really open 2 suitcases at the same time in the room and the croissants smells a little bit of cabbage, but still I enjoyed my stay there.
Everything is spotless and the staff is smiley and ready to help: their English is a little bit limited and I strongly recommend to double (triple) check if they understood what you wanted to say before you give it for granted.
Recommended if you wish to avoid loud places and other tourists.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel an average of 10 times a year, 2 weeks at a time, for the past 2+ years as it is right by the Tokyo branch of my company. The rooms are small by western standards but pretty large for a Japanese business hotel. The room, including the bathroom, is very clean and the fact that each room has its own AC/heater unit is wonderful as it allows you to have total control over the temperature of the room. A nice large TV, free internet (though wired), and a fridge rounds out the amenities. The bed is firm and comfortable for me, though I have heard from others that they feel it is too firm. There are also plenty of power plugs in the room for all your electronic charging needs. The room is very quiet and you rarely hear anyone else. There is a coin laundry on the 14th floor if you don't want to use the laundry service. Near the hotel is a 24 hour Lawson's convenience store as well as a post office where, if you are a foreign visitor, is a great place to use the ATM. A supermarket along with a drug store is also across the street along with some dining options as well. A short walk from Tamachi Station with more restaurants on the other side of the station. Tamachi is a more quiet station off of the Yamanote Line, one station away from Shinagawa. Breakfast is simple but convenient and good. The staff is very helpful and friendly. And the laundry service, though pricey (like in all hotels), is incredibly convenient for business travelers. Each room only has a pant press and no iron but you can rent that from the front desk if necessary. Overall, after having stayed at a number of business hotels in Japan, this one, so far, has been the best balance in terms of price, space, and convenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here after a late-night arrival at Haneda airport. It's a 35 minute train ride from the airport. There are hotels closer to the airport but we wanted a trade-off: Not too far from the airport after our flight (and not too expensive a taxi ride if we missed the last train!), but reasonably close to Tokyo where we work, for the next morning.

Check-in is efficient and the room was small but modern and comfortable, about 5-10 mins from Tamachi station. It has the usual small-ish but spotless bathroom typical of this kind of hotel.

If you're not familiar with Tokyo, definitely print a map before you go.

A good value option if the airport hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi is located just a leisure 5 mins walk from JR Tamachi Station (which is just one station from Shinagawa) and probably another 5 mins walk to Mita Station. I wouldn't say the room was big but it was spacious enough for 2 mid size luggages plus another 2 hand-carried bags. The staff, though they spoke little English, were very helpful and friendly. Check in time is 3pm and check out time is 11am and the staff adhere strictly to these timings BUT you can leave your stuff with them and collect them later. Room was quiet and one couldn't hear any traffic though the hotel is located next to the railway and a traffic junction. Some rooms offer city view while some offer the Mount Fuji view.

Complimentary breakfast was provided during our entire stay. Not much varieties though but the basic stuff like rice, miso soup, boiled eggs, milk, orange juice, steam salmon and salad. Simple breakfast and my wife and I enjoyed it.

Not much shopping in the vicinity but there is a supermarket and a few restaurants located at Granpark Building, just 1 minute walk across the hotel. There are a few eateries located just outside Tamachi station next to the police station. If you happen to fall sick during the trip, do not worry. There is a clinic just next to the station.

I would strongly recommend this hotel and i will return to stay in this hotel again if i do travel to Tokyo again. For the price you are paying, it is top value.

Room Tip: You can choose between smoking or non smoking room There is a self service laundry. Y100 for a pack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I stayed here two years ago by myself and I couldn't have asked for a better place. I found a deal online for less than $100/night and I got much more than what I paid for. I stayed in the Healing Room for 4 nights
Pros:
-Great view of the Tokyo Tower (though I heard it was getting blocked by construction recently)
-Attentive service by the front desk
-Foot Massager in the room (Need I say more?)
-Continental and Japanese breakfast choices and the bread is so good!
-A supermarket right next to the hotel so I bought snacks and bentos there. Very convenient
-Central location (The station itself doesn't have much to see but it is near everything)

Some reservations
-Shared with office building though separated by a glass wall. (one side of the lobby is used for breakfast/concierge area, while the other is where employees come in and go)
-Around 5-8 minute walk from the station. I didn't mind the strolls especially in the morning and evenings seeing local Japanese people go on with their everyday lives
-Tempur-pedic style beds..I liked them but I don't think everyone else does.

Overall, it was a great experience staying here and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to email the hotel about the views especially with construction going on. They re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi

Address: 4-2-8 Shibaura | Mita Twin Building East Wing, Minato, Tokyo Prefecture 108-0023 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Minato
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Minato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Fontaine Tokyo Mita
Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fontaine Tamachi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.