We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganized, not really traditional, out of the way location, missed reservation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fukudaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fukudaya to your Saves list
Hotel Fukudaya
3.0 of 5
Ryokan
  |   4-5-9 Aobadai, Meguro 153-0042, Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
4.0 of 5 stars 88 Reviews
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disorganized, not really traditional, out of the way location, missed reservation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I arrived at 10pm from the airport only to be told that they had misplaced my reservation and they were full, sorry. All the nearby hotels were sold out. They ended up driving me 45 mins away to a horrible "business hotel" where I had to pay for a tiny tiny room with nothing else in it but a mattress on the floor and wait in line for a shower in the morning.

The place is run by an old couple that seem nice enough and apologized for the mistake, but I would not want to recommend this to anybody or risk it again myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us the other days.
And we want to say really sorry again
It was completely our mistake.
I made you feel unpleasant and felt sorry for you.
Sufficient cautions are carried out so that there may be no such thing from now on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
15
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A distance away from Shibuya station. but nicely tuck away. No lifts in the hotel and we were located on the 3rd floor.

room has its own toilet and bath area. nicely furnished. have to get use to the area to find the nearest station Shinsen but it is only 1 stop away from the Shibuya but the walk can be a distance.

Denny is located opposite. bus stop outside on the main road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and was not happy to find out that the door was closed when I arrived I had to ask help from the convenient store so that someone would come open the place for me. They could have mentionned they expected people to chek in early.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel was not near where is said it was. I booked the traditional room for extra. That was a waste of money. this was worst place i stayed on the trip. It looks like it was once a western style hotel which they have thrown a cheap make over on to make look traditional.
.
They gave us horriable directions which lead to us walking 40mins in the wrong direction. i am sure they would be many far better options in tokyo.
.
dont both with this place

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Basic treditional design and equipment. Clean. Short footwalk to Shibuya station, easy to find your way. Elderly staff, rather good english speaking. Front desk not 24 hour open, coming in late you let your self in with a password.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I really impressed the hospitality of the staff, and the rooms are very traditional looking, whether they are beds or futons.I really like Futon, but recently many hotel changed to bed... .
You can use Onsen!in night and morning. And the price is also good how close it is to Shibuya and other popular areas. Generally Meguro is really expensive place to do everything. to stay, to eat, to shopping etc... Location is not so good, a little difficult to find. Even the taxi driver found it difficult to get there. But once you are there and walk around its very easy to walk to Shibuya. The walk maybe a little far is carry luggage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel was situated perfectly for our needs. The staff were very helpful, Wifi in our bedroom, and very reasonable international call rate to Australia from reception. We arrived after heavy snowfall and our bedroom was always nice and warm. We had planned to stay for 9 nights, but after 2 nights our situation changed and it became necessary for us to stay with family nearby. The manager was very helpful, and nothing seemed to be a problem. I don't think I have ever had better service in a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fukudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fukudaya

Address: 4-5-9 Aobadai, Meguro 153-0042, Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels / Ryokan in Meguro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fukudaya 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fukudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fukudaya Hotel Meguro
Hotel Fukudaya Tokyo/Meguro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fukudaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.