We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great original feel and near everything.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fukudaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fukudaya to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fukudaya
3.0 of 5 Ryokan   |   4-5-9 Aobadai, Meguro, Tokyo Prefecture 153-0042, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Meguro B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great original feel and near everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I got the Japanese style room. It was very nice and clean. I walked only 7 minutes to the Shibuya station and I was able to get everywhere. There was no one there when I left at 8am so I left the key in an envelope with my name and cell number. I didn't hear from them so I assume it was ok. The man working there is very nice and they are also very helpful with maps and stuff. Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
7 minutes on foot to Shibuya station is the record-breaking speed, ordinarily around 15 minutes.
We are very sorry for no attendant, by chance, present at 8 a.m. when you checked out.
And thank you for your kind consideration for which everything went O.K..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    33
    8
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
15
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Located near Shibuya station, this hotel is strategic to spend your night in Tokyo. You can either walk from Shibuya station via Dougenzaka street (use Hachiko exit) or take a bus from West Bus Terminal (2 stops). When carrying suitcases, I find it easier to take the bus. Usually they have 'Fukudaya Hotel' stop written on the bus screen display.
The hotel is located in a small alley which has two exit. If you get there by bus, you'll come from the back/side door. You need to go the other way to take bus to Shibuya station. From this bus stop, you can take any bus because they'll end up in Shibuya station anyway.

There's a few kombini (convenience store) around, and I spotted Sukiya and MOS Burger nearby. And there are heaps of restaurant around Shibuya in walking distance.

The room I got was pretty big for a single traveler, with toilet & bathroom en-suited. They provide sweets along with green tea sachet and hot water in thermos. It seems that on my first night, they haven't really prepare the room because the toilet slipper and hot water only showed up on my second day. There's also towels, toiletries and yukata provided.

For some reason I couldn't watch the TV. When I turned it on, there were some writings in Japanese I couldn't read but has something to do with card. I guessed you have to purchase a card to use the TV. But since it was late when I got back and didn't really want to watch anything anyway, I didn't say anything to the reception.

Ask for Tokyo maps and hotel map at the reception. When I was there, I was greeted by a fluent English speaking ojisan who was helpful. Also, if you plan to get back late, you need to get the keycode to enter the hotel as the reception only opens until around 11.30pm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are greatful to have your review as well as your intelligible introduction to an access route to Hotel Fukudaya and to its surroundings.
By the way, the room you stayed in was a Japanese Family type and was exceptionally allocated due to our reasons, though a room with its proper size is, usually, provided according to a mutual agreement when a reservation is made.
Our guests can enjoy T.V. watching in their rooms free of charge.
B-CAS card is already placed in every T.V. set.
Because you couldn't watch T.V., we are afraid that the card might have been wrongly inserted in the T.V. set. Anyway, we feel very sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Location. Staff. Price. Comfort.

My two friends and I stayed at Hotel Fukudaya for 3 nights. We chose the Japanese Style room which we enjoyed the best sleep on our whole journey! I loved the rice paper walls and girls you get a mirror and basin in a separate room :) Luggage space was fine - whilst there was only two wardrobes.

The bathroom was always clean and the shower always had good pressure.
The staff were so very friendly! We were on our way to Fuji Rock Festival and were able to leave one bag at the hotel and arranged to come back to pick it up afterwards.

Our plans changed after Fuji Rock and we stayed in Kyoto for a few days. I emailed Hotel Fukudaya and asked that we come to pick them up at a later date - they were so kind and friendly we booked another night. The service, comfort-ability and cleanliness of the hotel was exactly like our first experience.

We needed to send some of our friends luggage to Osaka and the lady behind the front desk was so helpful in showing us where the post office was - she even actually wrapped our friends belongings so as to send right off when we got there :)

The location is incredible its an easy walk to Shibuya! We enjoyed the city everyday and night and from Shibuya you can venture anywhere - its really too easy. If in Shibuya you must make a visit to Wokini! - if you like beer, tequila, records from 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s and some very fun and interesting bar staff - put it on the top of the to do list!

Hotel Fukudaya would be an excellent place to set up base in Tokyo and then travel the area from there. No need to worry about lock out or safety etc. this place is excellent!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 (facing the street) and we found it wasn't that noisy - considering the th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are pleased to hear from you that you had a pleasant stay in Hotel Fukudaya and also spent enjoyable days and nights in Shibuya and the other areas in Tokyo. We look forward to seeing you and your friends here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel Fukudaya is is an excellent place to stay in central Tokyo, if you like Japanese-style lodging. "Japanese-style" in real Japan (rather than Hollywood) means several things: Rooms are smaller than in the West (especially in Tokyo where real estate is expensive), walls are not generally sound-proof, closets are rare, and elevators in small buildings are even less common.

Hotel Fukudaya (if you choose a Japanese-style room), offers small but clean rooms -- either with or without an attached baths about 10-15 min walk from Shibuya Station. Guests staying in a room without a bath can use a surprisingly nice shower down the hall (available 24hrs) or the Japanese-style shared bath on the first floor (available during evening hours). If the hotel is not full, it's quiet, but you can easily hear people walking and talking in the hallway -- very common in Japanese buildings. At least in some rooms, the rain is very loud on the roof.

Fukudaya is a hotel, not a hostel, so there is no group kitchen, but (surprising for a hotel in this price range), the cleaning staff refreshes the room daily and provides a thermos of hot water for tea service. Japanese thermoses are excellent, and the water is still hot in the morning if you'd like to make instant coffee in your room.

Another feature that sets Fukudaya apart from other places is its lighting. I'm not kidding. Most Japanese style hotel rooms (with Tatami) are lit by a single overhead light; the standard style for these lights is to cover the side with wood and paper but leave the bare fluorescent bulb visible from the bottom. If you're sitting or lying on the floor underneath this style of lamp, the light is very harsh for reading or relaxing. Hotel Fukudaya uses overhead lights that are covered on the bottom (bulb not visible) and also provides a separate floor lamp. It might seem like a small thing, but I've stayed at a lot of Japanese hotels, and the second lamp was very much appreciated.

Contrary to some reviews here on TripAdvisor, I found the hotel very clean and was pleasantly surprised by the nice bathroom hardware (both the in-room sink and the hallway shower). There were some scuffs on the walls of the room, and the hotel building itself was clearly not new, but it felt lived-in and comfortable.

Here are some points to consider: There are no closets in Japanese-style rooms and only a small wooden area for suitcases (you're not supposed to stand suitcases up on the tatami mats because the wheels damage them), so plan on opening your suitcase to get your clothes out and then shutting them again. There's really no space for open suitcases and nowhere to unpack; this is quite normal in Japanese-style rooms, even expensive ryokan. This is a three-story building without an elevator, so it's not a good option for people who might have trouble climbing stairs. It is a 15-minute walk from Shibuya Station -- safe even at night but not very pleasant in the rain. It's about half a block away from a main road on the edge of a residential neighborhood. Therefore, there's not too much traffic noise, but when trucks to go by, they're clearly audible inside the rooms.

In short, if you like Japanese lodging and aren't bothered by the "Japanese" aspects of it (which might seem like negative points to Westerners), Hotel Fukudya is an perfect choice for Tokyo and has much more charm than a faceless business hotel. If you prefer Western-style hotels (with large rooms, fluffy pillows, a swimming pool, and room service), then this is probably not a good hotel for you.

Room Tip: The shared bathing options (shower or Japanese bath) are just fine; it you want to save money, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your favourable review of our hotel, by which we are much encouraged.
We are continuously doing our best to serve our guests who enjoy comfortable stays at a relaxed atmosphere in Japanese style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Fukudaya during a Christmas vacation to Tokyo earlier this year. The hotel is perfectly located – just a short walk from Shibuya crossing and Shibuya station – and a short train ride from Harajuku and Shinjuku. The accommodations were excellent and the staff was very friendly. We do not speak Japanese, but had no trouble checking in or asking for directions. They lock the front door after midnight, but you can ask for an access code if you expect to be out late. I plan to return to Fukudaya soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Try staying in a Japanese-style tatami room. They are fun and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much.
As appreciated by you, the hotel is located in a good area for visiting not only Shibuya and Shinjuku, but also Ginza and Asakusa where Tokyo's fashion and culture can be found in many aspects at many department stores, boutiques and theaters and temples.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

A charming and traditional family owned hotel, conveniently located at walking distance from Shibuya, one of the busiest subway stations in Tokyo and the young people's trendiest shopping and entertainment center. Rooms are available either in Japanese or Western style, so one can choose between the traditional Japanese futon or the western bed. It's a quiet neighborough, and I have been sleeping comfortably every time I have lodged here through more than ten years now. I always found my room clean and well provided with fresh towels and linen, plus tea service. The staff's dedication and kindness overcomes the occasional language barrier, and I have never been left unattended. I will return. I recommend it to travellers who need a warm, safe, clean, quiet and inexpensive hospitality experience in Tokyo.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Your comment is highly appreciated, which encouraged us very much.
We would like to continue doing our best to serve you so that you may feel more relaxed and comfortable during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We found this hotel via internet and we loved it. The room was in a very traditional style which is much better than the usual hotel which look the same everywhere. The staff doesn't speak much English but you can manage to understand. There's a little old lady who is veeery sweet. No English at all, but she manages to understand and help you as much as you need. The location is very good, 15 min walking fron Shibuya crossing.
In winter it is hard to warm up the room properly, but other than that we have been very happy with our choice.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelfukudaya, オーナー at Hotel Fukudaya, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your compliment to our staff in particular as well as our services in general.
However, we are very sorry or the room not properly heated.
We will take more care of the room temperature which could be adequately adjusted with an air-conditioner, a futon or a blanket to be additionally provided upon your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fukudaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fukudaya

Address: 4-5-9 Aobadai, Meguro, Tokyo Prefecture 153-0042, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Meguro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Meguro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fukudaya 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fukudaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fukudaya Hotel Meguro
Hotel Fukudaya Tokyo/Meguro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fukudaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.