We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good 14 years later” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonki

Tonki
1-1-2 Shimomeguro, Meguro 153-0064, Tokyo Prefecture
+81 3-3491-9928
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,427 Restaurants in Meguro
4.5 of 5 stars 102 Reviews
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Lake Forest, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just as good 14 years later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I first discovered Tonki 14 years ago when I lived in Meguro. It was so good it became a go to place at least 3x/week! I finally made it back after 14 long years of missing it and always telling people it was the best place to go. Nothing has changed, same great experience and same great dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    30
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Famous Tonkatsu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Good, well cooked Tonkatsu in meguro. Plenty of cabbage, rice at a reasonable price.
Near the station, it is a must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Tonki tonkatsu review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited Tonki at 6.30pm as i had a hard time finding the shop . It is just located 2 shops away from the pachinko store in a small lonely lane . Apparently the stop has been selling tonkatsu for a very long time. Ordered their specialty,rosu katsu and it was very good . It was crispy on the outside , tender in the inside and the small piece of white fat just evaporates in your mouth . No wonder there's a long queue for it. The best thing bout the piece is the environment and the great service . Its got a family feel to it . Definitely worth the trip again . It opens from 4pm to 10.45pm and close on tuesdays and every 3rd Monday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barrigada, Guam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious tonkatsu done the right way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I dined in the first night we arrived in Tokyo. We heard about the buzz on their loin katsu so I had to see for myself and was amazed with the outcome. I really enjoyed the flavors of the tonjiru soup and the tonkatsu breading came out perfect! I wanted to sit at the counter so I could enjoy watching the chefs in action but they moved us upstairs which I felt lacked ambiance. But that won't stop me from trying their tonkatsu. I'm officially a fan and I'll definitely be back again in the near future. Btw, the lady that served us what such a sweetie bear, she was always smiling and refilling our drinks. It made our first time there a great experience. Thank you Tonki!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“とんかつ とんき”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

One of the best in tonkatsu, with GREAT value! Always crowded so try to make reservation. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay downstairs to watch the chefs in action (they handle fresh-out-of-the-oil tonkatsu with bare fingers!), so had to head upstairs.

Order the rosu (loin) because it's the more delicious one here, don't worry about the fats and your waistline, we loved it. Hire can get slightly dry.

Closed on the 3rd Monday each month & Tuesdays.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonki also viewed

 

Been to Tonki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.