We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan
2-3-6 Aomi, Koto 135-0064, Tokyo Prefecture (Odaiba / Shiodome / Shinbashi)
+81 3-3570-9151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 76 things to do in Koto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Thunderbirds Are Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I visited the museum to see the special exhibition on the British 1966 Supermarionation television series THUNDERBIRDS, which had a big following in Japan. The exhibition told the story of British producer Gerry Anderson's brainchild in the form of videos, photos, artwork, miniature dioramas, a 3D movie, an audience participation segment, and the marionette characters themselves were on display. There was also a section of the exhibition which showcased the fantastic technology of the TV series alongside that of science and technology of present day. The exhibition itself was mostly in Japanese, but fans of the show would be able to enjoy it nonetheless. As for the Miraikan itself, I did not have time to explore the rest of the museum beyond the exhibition, but the facility itself was certainly impressive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    129
    47
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

great place for children and also for adults. a must do when in tokyo. the train to tokyo bay is an attraction per se.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“For your inner scientist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We came here mainly for Asimo, but the whole museum was very cool indeed. Prepare to spend a good half day inside here to explore everything. Not very much in English, but we managed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A HUGE Geo-Cosmos Globe Suspended from the Ceiling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our hotel was located in Odaiba not far from this attraction, so we caught the free Bay Shuttle which dropped us off at the museum's doorstep. My husband and I, with our 19-year-old son, spent the next couple of hours totally fascinated with the robots, gizmos, gadgets, and interactive displays. The most magical thing there was a gigantic globe hanging from the multi-stories high ceiling. The globe is ALIVE with real-time weather movements displayed on the thousands of LED panels that form a giant mosaic of Earth. Hard to describe; you have to see it firsthand.

Also, I like to browse museum gift shops, and this gift shop had a lot of innovative items I had never seen before.

In my opinion, this place is definitely worth a visit if you are interested in science and technology!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Planetarium amazing. The rest not bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I'd say it's worth visiting if only for the planetarium, this is top notch and really impressive. The rest of the centre is pretty good, we've been to similar places in Europe and North America - there are some interesting exhibits - but cold perhaps be better.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Museum of Emerging Science and Innovation Miraikan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.