We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian in Tokyo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dhaba India

Dhaba India
2-7-9 Yaesu | Sagami Bld 1F, Chuo 104-0028, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-3272-7160
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 5,290 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Indian in Tokyo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Booked in advance, restaurant full when we arrived, service was good and without delay. Tried both set meal and a la carte both good, with a pitcher of beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    38
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Home of South Indian Food in Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I never go to Dhaba during weekday lunch hours because the place is way too crowded and the menu is a bit limited and its sister North Indian restaurant Khyber is always easier to get into. Weekends the problem can be the same in terms of the crowds, but I'll chance it because the full menu is available. Dinner, reservations recommended, is when I prefer Dhaba because there is full access to the menu. One thing you will see if you go to Dhaba is that are often many Indian professionals and their family and/or friends eating at Dhaba because this is the real deal or at as close to it as you will get in Tokyo. The Thali meals are a must, especially for first timers. As to be expected, you will find that ordering set menus here offers significant savings over ordering ala carte and this applies to dinner as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authentic (south) Indian on Central Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

There are a no. of Indian restaurants in central Tokyo and we were looking for one with a good vegetarian menu, and has an authentic selection of meat dishes.
We were surprised and happy to find this place as the service from entering was excellent even though it was packed (therefore recommend booking). It is a small restaurant with an authentic indian ambience a pleasant simple decor, with pieces of original ornaments/artwork, with indian chefs cooking in an open kitchen.
The vegetarian selection (which includes south indian dishes such dosas and utthapums) was excellent and tasted exactly as they would in india (not westernised 'balti, overspicey or oily) and a really pleasant break if you get tired of sushi or local dishes.
Very reasonably priced compared other restaurants in this part of central Tokyo.
If you fancy an 'indian' and your in Tokyo Central, Ginza, or around ths area then this has got to be your first choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful genuine Indian food in the heart of Tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very unassuming restaurant. It is on the small side. As you walk in you notice that you can have your food sitting on a bar stool alongside other diners (great if you fancy something quick). I did not really know what to expect as I was taken here by some local colleagues. But as with most things in Japan, the quality and service are amazing. We had a set menu (approx. USD 40 per head). There were a variety of starters from popadom to wonderfully marinated and grilled tandoori chicken and lamb. Then came several dishes of curry - meat, chicken, seafood and vegetable. All tasted wonderful. The spice level was spot on. The nan bread was perfect - soft and chewy and HOT. To finish off what else but Kulfi (with mango and pistachio). Overall an excellent place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful South Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Tokyo was an unexpected city to find superb, reasonably priced South Indian food. It is in a bustling atmospheric room - I'd advise making a reservation. The food was top notch - fresh and flavoursome. In fact some of the best I've eaten and a place I will always return to whenever in Tokyo!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dhaba India also viewed

 

Been to Dhaba India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dhaba India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.