We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for Tsuikiji Fish Market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza

Save Saved
You added Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsukiji 4-11-5, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0045 , Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 78 hotels in Chuo
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for Tsuikiji Fish Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stay for 1 day at the hotel to visit the early auction at the fish market. Very practical and clean room with washing machine. Lots of sushi restaurant and food stalls around the area. Strict on check in/out time. Highly recommended if you plan to visit the fish market at early morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    38
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
8
17
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in a large double room. At an average cost of Y15450 per night for 2 including breakfast it was really great value in Tokyo. The room had two double beds, an adequate bathroom, a small but-fully equipped, kitchen and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Plenty of free benefits including a bean to cup coffee machine in the foyer, ice, WiFi, wired LAN, amenities, etc. Breakfast is around the corner at a local Jonathan's – not great but adequate. It is close to Ginza, three subway stations on three lines and a good walk from Tokyo or Shimbashi stations. We used a taxi once, on arrival, from Tokyo station to the hotel for Y1000. Based here it is quite easy to get to anywhere in Tokyo or Japan.
The hotel is in the Tsukiji outer market and a great location to feel the real Tokyo, whilst the high end of Ginza is a short walk away. For visiting the tuna auction at 4:30 am, eating at the seemingly hundreds of sushi shops in the outer marker, or sampling Tokyo street food, the location could not be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here on business and leisure. The room was fine: a little bit tired and pretty compact but it had everything we needed.

Location is superb for visiting the fish market and enjoying excellent sushi. The shops of Ginza are about a 10 minute walk away, but there's plenty going on in the streets around the hotel.

Staff were polite and helpful, price was reasonable. Personally I am not a fan of the complimentary Jonathan's food for breakfast, but it's adequate and has unlimited juices and coffee, so no real complaints here.

Would recommend for business trips or for tourists keen on visiting Tsukiji.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Got a single room here for about 8,000 yen ($100) a night. It's walkable to Ginza (10 minutes to the Mitsukoshi department store/Wako intersection) and close to the Tsukiji fish market. From the early morning into the afternoon, it's a bustling area of shops selling stuff related to the fish restaurant trade. There are sushi restaurants aplenty, including some open 24 hours, though otherwise it's fairly dead at night.
Tokyu Stay is a basic service apartment chain, I've stayed in two of their hotels and was satisfied both times. There's not as much service as a regular hotel (they only change the sheets once a week), but it's clean and you get everything you need. Shampoo, soap, conditioner in the bathroom, toothbrush and toothpaste, a disposable razor if you need it. An alarm clock. A washer/dryer in the room. Someone told me there's no English TV (I didn't watch TV), so don't expect CNN. And as of a day before my arrival, they had free wifi in the room, which isn't universal in Japan. Free coffee from a gourmet coffee maker in the lobby.
Making phone calls requires buying a card from a machine in the lobby (1,000 yen minimum) and putting it in a slot in the desk under the phone. Unused credit is returned at the end.
To get here from Narita, you can take the Airport Limousine bus to Courtyard by Marriott Ginza for 3,000 yen or the Keisei Access Express train to the Higashi Ginza subway stop for 1,280 yen. If you don't need a full-service hotel, this is a terrific bargain in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this property for 2 nights and would highly recommend a stay here.
You directly right in the entrance of the famous Tsukiji Fish Market where you can expierence some of the best Sushi in the world at your doorstep 24 hrs a day.
A short 10 minute walk and you are in the center of the Ginza District with its premier shopping and neon lights.
The Asakusa metro line is at your doorstep also which if you ride to one end, takes you to Asakusa and a glimpse into 'old Tokoyo, and the other end you end up in Shibuya and the Hatchiko statute, and its shopping.
Connections can be made at Tokyo's main station which is a 5 min taxi ride.
Rooms are Japan size and have a washer and dryer in the room, unlimited green tea, and movie card for 24 hour viewing of English movies.
Staff was very friendly and helped with directions. Spoke limited English, but enough to get by.
Over all a hotel i would stay at again when i return.
Great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza was perfect really for what I wanted/needed for my hotel stay in Tokyo.

It is in a fantastic location in regards to being very close to the subway station - 3 different ones, and at your doorstep is the fish market area which is bustling with people, food, and exciting things to see, smell, taste and hear. It's easy walking distance to the Fish Market, and there is 24 hour sushi joints surrounding you. Despite all this, it is a quiet area and a really pleasant, serene stay.

The room was a decent enough size - especially considering you are in Tokyo. Beds are very comfortable and I always had a very good sleep there.
There was a fridge, TV, sink, stove top, and washing machine in the room, as well as a safe for valuables, a pants press (I didn't use this but may be of use to you) and LAN connection for your lap top.

In the lobby, staff are friendly and helpful. Some speak some english, some do not. They have maps there. There is also a coffee machine downstairs for free coffee, and wireless internet in the lobby too.

There were a few things that were a bit 'annoying' if you could even say that; such as they don't clean your room/remove rubbish/make your bed each day unless you stay there more than 6 nights.
Having no wifi in the room meant that if I wanted to skype family for example, I had to do that in the lobby with others surrounding me and did not want to have to do that.

Besides these things, it was a great stay, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The location is fantastic for visitors wanting to visit the Tsukiji market auction. A block and a half away walk from the entrance to waiting line at the market. Reception told my son and I the nite before to be there at 4:30am and we were able to see the auction. We were approx the 20th people there. Shortly thereafter, people arriving were told they were too late. They arrived by cab. So stay here and get a little bit more shut eye and save on a cab ride. We stayed only 24hours for a layover. Great for solo and two people (sharing a bed). Rooms are basic, small but clean and functional. Bonus had washer/dryer/microwave/kettle/free tea....fantastic to have clean clothes for next leg of trip...even pajama and slippers for two. Recommend for short term stay; solo or couple wanting to see fish market. Subway entrance also steps to hotel so can reach anywhere in Tokyo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza

Address: Tsukiji 4-11-5, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0045 , Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#16 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyu Stay Higashi-Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.