We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ginza location, decent rooms, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gracery Ginza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gracery Ginza to your Saves list
Hotel Gracery Ginza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7-10-1 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061 , Tokyo Prefecture   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
4.0 of 5 stars 256 Reviews
Paris
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Perfect Ginza location, decent rooms, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

All things considered, I had a good experience at the Gracery Hotel. I had gotten a very competitive rate on the web, which made me choose it in the first place. If you are looking for a place in Ginza, its location is perfect. Rooms are fine, even relatively spacey for the crammed downtown Tokyo standards (although certainly they are not big rooms!), in good condition and clean, with comfortable beds. They are also quite, so one can get a good sleep. If your room overlooks on the side street, you will have a fine view of the wall of the building in front -- hardly pleasant, but again, this is downtown Tokyo. Breakfast in the restaurant is good, and in general the service was fast and helpful. Excellent internet connection, too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    141
    45
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
66
66
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pasig
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

It can't get any better than this deal. For the price we paid, location was fantastic - right in the middle of Ginza district and just a short walk from the subway lines and several major department stores. I've stayed in several hotels in Tokyo - Imperial, Park, Somersets and this was the most ideal one location wise. Ginza station is a few stops to everywhere you'd want to go to in Tokyo and the subway is just a few minutes walk away from the hotel. 24 hr eating places all around, family mart nearby, Tsukiji market (for breakfast) a short distance away and some of the greatest eating places right around the corner. Rooms are small but then again, I just stay in the hotel to sleep and shower when on vacation. I realize now that I don't have to shell out a few hundred bucks a night for facilities I will never see or use. The rooms are modern and clean, have internet and great air-conditioning so I'm happy with that. Staff help was adequate enough in getting you around but if you want more complicated requests, I suggest you plan and research early as they are not that used to international traveler's requests. Over all very happy with this hotel and will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

This was my first trip to Japan and after reading the reviews on this website, decided on this hotel for location and value in Tokyo. I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and then another night at the end of our trip (we traveled to Kyoto in between) - I noticed that our room the second time was larger than the first time - still smallish but more comfortable because of the extra space (there was room for a compact massage chair). The Ginza area is a great base, whether it is walking to the Tsukiji market at 5am to get awesome sushi or hopping on the metro to go to the other popular areas like Shibuya, Harajuku, or Shinjuku, or just strolling around the area (tons of great restaurants and shopping). The staff is very professional and helpful, from helping with dinner reservations or borrowing umbrella (it was the rainy season but the rain was light and intermittent). The breakfast buffet was awesome - there was western style with delicious croissants and japanese style with rice porridge and all sorts of toppings - it's a pretty good deal considering many places aren't open so early (and you may be up super early from jetlag). The lounge is nice to get cold water or hot coffee. There is no free wifi offered by the hotel as other people have suggested on this forum but there are 2 computer/internet terminals by the reception area.
As for getting here from the airport - we took the airport limousine bus (closest hotel is the Marriot courtyard) and it's a short walk ~5 min. For going back to the airport, we took the Narita Express from Tokyo station (1 metro stop from Ginza stop). Both ways are really easy.
I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

For our return stop in Tokyo we decided on Ginza just to make sure we didn't miss out on the famous glitz.

The hotel is just off the major street Chuo-dori - a draw in itself during weekends, when they close it off to traffic and put up tables and benches ON the road so pedestrians can have a really enjoyable time window/shopping and chilling in between. We took away some cakes from the department stores, and having them right there on a cool and lazy Saturday felt quite extraordinary =)

We had difficulties getting to the place at night because Ginza station was on multiple lines, each with several street exits - mostly not luggage-friendly and sending you up to busy intersections. Also the hotel was known by another name not too long ago (Ginza Washington if I am correct), so this taxi we tried actually could not locate the place on its console. Essentially you just need to get off at Ginza station, take exit A4, pass the Matsuzakaya department store and the hotel will be right there behind this Lion beer hall. The street-level entrance is slightly inconspicuous, with the hotel reception on top via lifts.

Outside in the near vicinity there is a complete array of luxury-brand boutiques, the Nissan and Sony showrooms (which did not really impress - try the others), more massive Japanese department stores, and interestingly, a wildly popular nine-floor Abercrombie store with top-naked buff male models you can take photos with. For night-time drinks and snacks with the local working crowd, there are several popular yakitori-yas and izakayas near Yurakucho station (10-15min walk away), while for lunch and dinner there are some options of varied price ranges (all with long queues.. hungry travelers beware). Morning persons might want to note that around the hotel breakfast options are limited, at least on weekends, but the popular Tsukiji area is just 1-2 metro stops away...

On the accommodation itself, this is a business hotel so for our economy room I expected the usual - bed tucked in a corner, standard pre-fab bathroom, vending machines on every floor, the somewhat cool business-like service etc (see my other review). Trendy locality aside, the hotel does have an updated trendy decor and a lounge-y business corner with terminals, newspapers and coffee. Another plus was free wi-fi internet in the room. I can't be sure it was from the hotel though, but it was publicly accessible during our stay, so we thought we were lucky considering everywhere else including cafes required paid subscriptions.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

i stayed at gracery for 3 nights when i was there in April with my hubby and daughter. it's easy to find - about 10 mins from ginza station, and opposite the ferragamo building. the room is clean but it's really tiny! when we first checked in, we were astounded by the size of the room (and the bed)! we could hardly open the door when we were on our way out for dinner - we had to close our luggages to 1 side before we could open the door wide enough to push the stroller out. anyway, my hubby had to sleep on the floor while i shared the bed with my girl. the next morning, we decided to upgrade to a bigger room and at least the room is much bigger.

i think the hotel is more suited for business travellers, or single traveller. but it's value for money and the location is really excellent!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gracery Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gracery Ginza

Address: 7-10-1 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061 , Tokyo Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gracery Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gracery Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gracery Ginza Hotel
Gracery Ginza Chuo
Hotel Gracery Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gracery Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.