We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far reaching views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 103-8328, Japan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #1 of 78 hotels in Chuo
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Far reaching views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I spent a night here after a few hectic days partying in Tokyo. Very relaxing vibe. The usual MO level of service - i.e. very attentive. The spa was over hyped and certainly the mens side was a bit disappointing. Views from the rooms and the bars/restaurants were great. Cocktails and bar were fantastic. Rooms were large and had all the necessary facilities. Overall a really relaxing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    659
    92
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
133
312
61
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Taking advantage of the commemoration of our 25th years anniversary trip, as well as our honeymoon, following our wedding thanks to the new French law about marriage for all, we decided to inform all the hotels we had booked of the purpose of this trip and our civil situation.
We were greeted at the reception with congratulations for our wedding, and found in our room a very kind message from the Director, with special fruit preparation.
The MO Tokyo is really perfectly localized in this gigantic megalopolis. Close to Tokyo train station, with a subway station access in the same building, connected to two strategic lines : it’s very important in this city as transports are a key element to understand and enjoy it.
The hotel occupies the top of a high building with breathtaking views. Our room was spacious, very nicely decorated with Japanese delicate influence, and we had the same dramatic views over Tokyo at our feet. At night it’s really magic. Unfortunately, the weather not allowed to see the mount Fuji…
I had a massage at the SPA (beautiful place), highly recommendable: very sweet and relaxing.
Breakfast buffet is of the highest quality, with a smooth and professional service.
We had dinner two times at the Asiatic restaurant, with very tasty options, and some cocktails at the lounge, with outstanding views and great service.
As it’s almost a tradition at MO hotels, we always enjoyed to be greeted by our name in the lobby when coming back from our visits, with appreciated personal reference to our honeymoon: this kind of attention makes you feel very special!
In general, the care for details and personalization is a trademark of MO hotels, and this one didn’t escape from this rule.
Minor critic, but more linked to Japan: the hotel still allow smoking in public areas and, despite a highly sophisticated system of aeration, you may detect smoke presence.
Resuming, amazing hotel, amazing service, amazing localization, amazing food: perfect to end a memorable honeymoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Exception five star hotel.

Would definitely stay here again.
Concierge made any request very easy and worry free.
We were able to send our luggage ahead to our next destination as we set out for Mt Fuji.
The Spa was exceptional and breakfast perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our favorite hotel in Tokyo used to be the Park Hyatt. We have a new contender after our recent stay at the MO...although they are pretty close!

First, the room. The view is excellent (although with large buildings near by on the west side, we don't really get a clear view of the Imperial Gardens and the weather while we were there did not give us a view of Mt. Fuji...next time, we may stay facing the east side, which gives a more unobstructed view and also of the Skytree Tower). There are almost an endless list of conveniences...a lot of small details that make up for a great experience...for example, scent oil at turndown service. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was fabulous...the only negative was that the shower had no door. Water splashed if you were not careful...onto the wood floors.

Service was the best we have experienced. Everyone was so helpful, friendly and courteous. The turndown service was something else...it took two housekeeping staff quite a while to get everything ready...again with attention to a lot of details.

The fitness center was adequate. Very nice views while working out...but the space was relatively small and equipment/weights were limited. The juice after workout was a nice touch.

The best part of the hotel is the lobby area and the restaurants and bars..all located on the top two floors. Everything was open, elegant, and with great views. We tried Sense Cantonese and K'shiki restaurants...both excellent! We did not try the other great restaurants because we figure our 12 year old son would not really appreciate them. The bars were great with live jazz every night. Because everything was open, you can hear the music from many of the bars. Two of the bars had fine cigars, which I really appreciated.

The fact that you had to go to the lobby level to switch elevators was a bit of an inconvenience but it seems to be a growing trend in some hotels...we got used to it...it was an excuse to go to the fabulous lobby area.

The location was ok...Nihonbashi is mostly a business area, but there is a small neighborhood with many small restaurants and cafes on the east side of the hotel. The Mitsukoshi department store next door is worth a visit just to see the giant sculpture of a dragon in the middle. On the west side, there is a currency museum next to the Bank of Japan. Mitsui museum next door is worth a visit. The immediate neighborhood was not too exciting but the hotel is centrally located to many of the great places to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for just over a week, when in Tokyo with the supporters of the Royal Ballet tour.

The hotel occupies the upper floors of a large office and shopping complex building, a block away from the huge Mitsuokoshi department store. The basement level gives direct access to the Mitsukoshi-mae station on the Ginza line of the Metro - very useful for getting about the city.

Our room on the 32nd floor was large, luxuriously comfortable, and equipped with everything that we could possibly need - wi fi, a kettle and tea/coffee making equipment, kimonos, fans to take to the theatre, even binoculars.

The service was, as usual with the MO group, exceptionally helpful and attentive.

Breakfast was served in the K'shiki restaurant, on the 38th floor - a full buffet with a wide choice of western and oriental foods on offer, and (on clear days) a view of Mt Fuji. At times other than breakfast, K'shiki usually serves Japanese food for sharing. The hotel also has a Michelin-starred French restuarant, Signature, a lounge, a fine bar (also with spectacular city views), a spa,fitness room and pool.

It made a great base for our trip.

Two minor points. First, the bathroom in our room was a triumph of style over function. It looked very elegant and stylish: but the lavatory was in the bathroom, and separated on 2 sides only by misted glass, so could not comfortably be used at the same time as someone else was using the sink or shower. Also, the shower was a walk-in, with no door to separate it from the rest of the bathroom, so the water from the shower went all over the place.

Secondly, the lift system is idiosyncratic. To get from the ground to our room on the 32nd floor, it was necessary to go up, first, to the 38th floor, before crossing the lobby and then going down in a different lift to the 32nd. Leaving the hotel required the same procedure to be followed in reverse, which added 2 or 3 minutes to every trip.

However, these were minor niggles. The MO essentially provided all that we could reasonably have hoped for, and we greatly enjoyed our stay. We would certainly stay there again should we return to Tokyo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel is luxurious and of extemely high quality - the service, the rooms, the amenities, the buffet breakfast, the lobby area with its incredible views. Although this is a fancy hotel - the staff were extremely friendly to my young children and the concierge was very helpful in planning our sightseeing. Our family of four had connecting rooms (a deluxe and corner) on the 27th floor facing east/southeast, staying for a week at the end of June. I preferred the deluxe room with floor to ceiling windows, which was more spacious and had a better view, than the corner room with windows on two sides, which was more expensive. The corner room did have an amazing view from the bathroom though. We had jet lag coming from the US and spent hours in our hotel room waiting for morning to arrive - made better because of the luxurious and extremely comfortable surroundings. We should have gotten the bed and breakfast package since we were always up so early. Staying in this location means a lot of walking - although Mitsukoshimae subway station is downstairs and Tokyo station is nearby, we ended up using cabs a lot because the distances were sometimes too much for tired kids. The Nihonbashi area is not compact as the area we stayed in Shinjuku later in the trip. The hotel is on a convenient subway line (Ginza) for the traditional tourist spots.

Room Tip: Families should contact the hotel directly to book connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the valet to the concierge to the bar, everyone is amazingly wonderful.
I loved this hotel and absolutely would stay here again.
The view is beautiful, the breakfast is outstanding, the rooms are amazing but again, the staff make your stay just absolutely wonderful and make you feel both appreciated and warmly welcome.
I will absolutely stay here again and would gladly tell anyone else to stay here as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo

Address: 2-1-1 Nihonbashi Muromachi, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 103-8328, Japan
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chuo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#1 Spa Hotel in Chuo
#2 Family Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo's visionary design and award-winning service has been recognised as the epitome of sophisticated luxury in the city. Superbly located in the prestigious financial district within the historical and cultural centre of Tokyo, the first Mandarin Oriental Hotel Group property in Japan embodies the best of contemporary and time-honoured architectural splendour. The hotel features 178 luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites, ten restaurants and bars and an award-winning spa situated within the soaring, Cesar Pelli-designed Nihonbashi Mitsui Tower. The site offers spectacular views of the city skyline while providing access to stately banquet and conference facilities within the adjacent Mitsui Main Building, a Japanese cultural-heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Hotel Chuo
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Tokyo
Mandarin Oriental Chuo
Mandarin Tokyo
Chuo Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Tokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.