We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, value for money, decent breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterey Ginza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monterey Ginza to your Saves list
Hotel Monterey Ginza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-10-2 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great location, value for money, decent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I chose this hotel for its location.. in the happening district of Ginza and just 6 minutes away from the Tokyo International Forum, which was the venue for a World Ophth Conference. I was pleasantly surprised that the room was of a reasonable size ( japan is notorious for tiny hotel rooms!) with all amenities including a nightly change of nightwear in 2 sizes!
The breakfast is quite varied, though the breakfast room tends to fill up fast! They are quite liberal in handing out free umbrellas in case of rain, which you return on coming back to the hotel.
The front desk staff is quite helpful and speaks decent English

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    291
    103
    28
    11
See reviews for
106
175
112
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Monterey is in a classic style building or classic at least by Japan standards. Location is great in the heart of the Ginza shopping and entertainment district and a short walk to the Shimbashi business district. Also very close to train lines.

If you are coming in from Narita there is an express bus that drops you have very close to the hotel and it's no slower than train but substantially cheaper.

The room is small and basic, but clean comfortable and functional.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

It felt like an old French hotel when you step inside. But the similarity ends there. The room is totally modern and not at all cramped. Wifi in the room. Heated bidet. Fresh pajamas everyday. And the location is perfect. If you must have your morning coffee, there is a Doutor and a Cafe Veloce not 2-minutes away. The Ginza-Itchome stop of the Yurakucho line is next door. Lots of shops and restaurants all around. Over-all a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The hotel is nicely refurbished and the rooms and toilets are modern and well equipped. Wifi is also available for free in the room.
It is a nice comfortable walk to Tsukiji market and there is convenience stores just right downstairs where they have espresso coffee for a very reasonable price. There are also a few ramen restaurants round the corner and izakaya as well. From the hotel, I walked down Ginza all the way to Shimbashi for my favourite Izakaya dinner.
However, it is a far walk to the Ginza line. The nearest metro station doesn't really bring me anywhere except Tokyo station. The most inconvenient part is that the hotel is not served by airport limousine. I walked to Marriott Courtyard with my luggage to take the airport limousine. The other options all involve taking either a taxi to the TCAT or changing trains, not desirable with luggage and the crowd.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. No issues or complaints at all. The staff was exceptionally accommodating. In particular your assistance in holding our luggage both before and after our check in/out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Location is very good . Good value for the money . Very clean place . Rooms rather small . The staff are really helpfull at any time . I did not try the food here so I can not give any comment on this . But I will come back here

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingelmunster, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Although small and expensive, (but hey, it's tokyo) the rooms are really practical, clean and they spent extra efforts in the small details, which I like!
Service is as I am used to in Japan: excellent!
Great location too of course!
would definitely recommend this one.
There's always Okura Hotel, which is so far one of my top favourites, but that comes with a price of course...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monterey Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterey Ginza

Address: 2-10-2 Ginza, Chuo 104-0061, Tokyo Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Monterey Ginza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Monterey Ginza is a classic boutique-style hotel nestled in the heart of Ginza. The location is ideal for shopping, sightseeing and business, while from the moment you enter the relaxed interior of the lobby you will be able to forget the hustle and bustle of the streets outside. We hope you will take advantage of this "little hideaway" in the middle of Ginza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, JAPANiCAN, Despegar.com, Priceline and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Monterey Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Ginza Chuo
Hotel Monterey Ginza Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterey Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.