We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, handy location, Japanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi to your Saves list
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2-13-5 Nihombashikayabacho, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 103-0025, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value, handy location, Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great value hotel. Clean and comfortable. Staff were attentive and helpful. Location is excellent; Kayabacho is full of wonderful back streets and little restaurants that are well worth exploring. Probably not the usual tourist haunt, as it's really considered a business district, but our family of four (2 teenagers) found it great. Just round the corner from the highly recommended Great Tokyo Cycling Tour starting point. Subway very handy (Kayabacho - use exit 6 or thereabouts, not 11 and 12).

Room sizes were very good I thought. Not much smaller than I would expect in Australia, and for the price the hotel could not be faulted. Breakfast was great; plenty of choice and very Japanese. Most of the guests were Japanese; not a tourist hotel, but still the staff had a good level of English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    80
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
23
36
34
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything I've experienced in this hotel was quite a full of good surprises to me. Would definitely stay at Smile Hotel again unless my next stay is with a 5-star hotel near Shinjuku or something!

* Nice Staff: Staffs are very kindly, English speaking and ready to serve their guests.

* Spa..cious Room: I've heard the room size of hotels in Tokyo are very tiny, and mine(TW room) was beeeetter than I expected. Very cozy and clean. They provides two types of pillow: normal one and made of latex. Even Febreze was ready in the closet.
But the bathroom; It's not about the size at all, but it was stinky a little bit around the toilet. We couldn't find where the smell came from, since it looked always clean. Think it was a sewer smell. Maybe the ONLY problem during I stayed... but not such a big deal, after all. The room was always well cleaned-up with amenities.

* Great location: Just a minute walk from Kayabacho station, where Tozai line and Hibiya line meets. Easily accessible to most of tourist spots like Asakusa, Roppongi, Ginza and to Odaiba. A drugstore and conveniences are located near the hotel. But remember its neighborhood is more like a business area: if you like to hang out till late night, better get a room at Shinjuku or Shibuya.

* Loved the breakfast!: Thinking or the price of our room, the breakfast was like perfect. 120% satisfied with that. Staffs are kind, food is warm and quite a good variety of continental breakfast. You can try Japanese traditional breakfast as well. ;)

The hotel provides free wired internet but not WiFi -- available at the lobby only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I booked here for 3 days expecting something quite budget and it was fairly decent. The room was exactly the same as other 4 star hotels I stayed at in Japan that were 50% more in price. The staff were helpful with directions in getting around drawing me maps and even a free umbrella. The room was very clean and as a non-smoker there was no smoke smells that I had read in other reviews. There are two subway stations close by that I found easy to use and about a 10-15min walk from Tokyo main station or 5mins/600yen in a taxi. For the price I thought it was great value for what we got. If they changed room internet from wired to wifi it would be a 5.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a great hotel! The room was very affordable and was huge for Tokyo standards. It was quiet and had wired internet. The front desk attendants spoke moderately good English and were very helpful.

The only downside is that it's not really close to a major tourist area or a JR stop. It's about a 10-15 minute walk north of the nearest JR stop (Hatchobori Station). Also, to get to the other JR lines at Tokyo station, it's quite a long walk once you get to Tokyo station (although it's all underground). It's not bad, but it can be a little difficult with luggage. You might want to take a cab. There's a regular subway stop right next door, so you can take that and transfer if you'd like (Kayabacho Station).

All in all, it's a great hotel! We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very well located and the staff was friendly and spoke English. We asked them about the train timetable and they printed it out for us and explained everything, very efficient. The hotel is quite close to the Fish Market too. The rooms are small, we got an upgrade when we arrived and started to wonder how was the double we had booked... But that's Japan, small rooms are common, speacilly if you dont want to spend a lot of money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my wife while we were visiting Tokyo. The price was good and the room nice, even if it was a bit small, even for Japanese hotels.

The hotel is located in a business area, so there aren't many interesting things around, but it's still very conveniently located. We had the Japan Rail Pass, so we were trying to limit our travel to the JR lines and used the nearby Hatchobori station which was a short walk from the hotel. There is also another subway station just outside the hotel if you're not picky about which lines you take and the Tokyo station is just 15 minutes away on foot if you want to walk there.

The best thing with this hotel was the breakfast buffet which was the biggest and best breakfast buffet I've seen in Japan so far. They had things like bread, yogurt, cereal, rice, miso soup, yakisoba, gyoza, karage, sausages, scrambled eggs and much more. So after a big breakfast at the hotel we could go on for many hours before we had to get something to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here in May, 2011, the hotel was clean and basic, very suitable to a business traveller rather than a tourist due to its location, right outside its doorstep is a metro station which is very handy. The room I stayed in was the lead-in room, it was compact but comfy, not a lot of room to move around but that didn't both me as I just wanted a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi

Address: 2-13-5 Nihombashikayabacho, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 103-0025, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 80 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound), Rakuten and Tingo so you can book your Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universe Hotel Chuo
Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile Hotel Tokyo Nihombashi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.