We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for a business stay in tokyo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Save Saved
You added Mercure Tokyo Ginza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Tokyo Ginza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-9-4 Ginza, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0061, Japan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 76 hotels in Chuo
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a business stay in tokyo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We picked a hotel in tokyo based on location, and were very pleased with the mercure hotel.

The location was indeed good: close to ginza brand street, a lot of restaurants closeby, basement connection to the subway or 5 minute walk to another line, and 20 minute walk to tokyo train station.

The welcome was smooth, friendly and efficient. Any request for directions or recommendations was done very well, in perfect english. Breakfast buffet was good, with a larger then usual western selection, which we though was good. we did not try the restaurant, so I cannot comment on that part.

The rooms were clean, and well kept and for a business user large enough. there was wired internet connection in the room and wifi in the lobby. I personnaly preffer wifi in room as well, as with many smartphones/ipad, wifi connection to connect to home is convenient and a wire just doesn't cut it then. that was the only thing I could find to improve on the rooms.

There is no fitness/pool, but I guess taht is rare is a town where place is costly.

Overall I enjoyed my stay in the mercure hotel in ginza and was glad I selected it

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
営業部, 営業 at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    364
    84
    16
    4
See reviews for
140
208
71
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I travelled to Tokyo for a couple of time. Most of the time I stayed at a hotel in Shinjuku area. This time, I stayed at Mercure Hotel Ginza Tokyo in mid November 2012. This stay made me feel better than any time.
From Narita airport, I traveled using NEX train to Tokyo station and walked to the hotel. It was okey to do so and took about 20 mins to reach the hotel. The hotel receptionist was helpful. The check-in time was at 14:00 but we could kept a luggage(s) at the hotel with no problem.
The location of the hotel is very close to the main shopping street at Ginza area. Also one of the metro line is located at the hotel ground floor. Alternatively, we could walk through the main street, enjoy sight-seeing and reached at Ginza station within 10-15 mins. This was enjoyable. Nearby the hotel, a lot of Japanese restuarants, convenient stores and fastfood restuarant are located within 5 mins walking distance. This was impressed me.
The room size was standard compare to the same room rate hotels and typical for Tokyo area. The room was clean without any bad smell. Hotel's amenities were reasonable. Free coffee & tea were available in the room. An ice maker was located one on each floor.
Breakfast was in a standard range compare to other hotels at the same price range in Tokyo area. I could enjoy the breakfast with no complaint. For the same room rate, this hotel is recommended.
Overall, I would definitely come back and stay at this hotel again in the future. Ginza area is one of my best favourite area in Tokyo.

Room Tip: Room number less than X15 is closer to the elevator. My room 621 was the farthest from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
営業部, 営業 at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed five nights at the Mercure Ginza. The hotel is located in the heart of Ginza and all the hustle and bustle of Ginza and shopping only a short stroll away. The area is also well covered with 24h corner shops which will provide you with all the essentials.

Check in was delayed as my room was not ready at midday. The deluxe room I had booked was large with a small seating area and a desk for working and a mini bar and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was clean and tidy and featured all the typical amenities. WiFi was free but service was slow and unreliable.

The hotel uses a very strange room deodoriser which is way too strong and takes quite some time getting used to.

Breakfast was decent and varied (western and japanese). Staff were friendly throughout.

As is typical at Mercure there was zero recognition for Le Club Accorhotels Platinum members, which is a shame and an opportunity missed.

Room rates are on the high side for Mercure.

Would I return? Yes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Starflyergold,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Tokyo Ginza. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback especially from one of our valued Le Club Accorhotels Platinum member.
The occupancy of our hotel is generally quite high but we ensure guests can enjoy their room from 14.00 H. Nevertheless we try to provide early check in when possible, especially to our Le Club Accorhotels card members and we are sorry no room was available before noon.
The Le Club Accorhotels is a great program we are very proud that you joined. As Platinum status Members you get 100% Points bonus compared with Le Club Accorhotels Classic Status, and you also benefit from additional advantages and services for you stay in Sofitel, Pullman and MGallery hotels.
We are proud to inform you that we are updating our wifi to improve the speed and quality of the service and before end of this year the whole hotel will provide free wifi to all the guests.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Pieter De Weerd | General Manager Mercure Tokyo Ginza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelotas, RS
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

very modern, clean and polite staff.
there is a good french restaurant in there, dont, miss it.
it,s near to every were, easy acces to the metro.
the price is high, as every thing in Tokyo, we choose a good hotel to feel safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
営業部, 営業 at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We 2 adults 2 children age 10(twins!) stayed for two nights. 2 rooms. Very comfortable, clean, contemporary yet still sympathetic to Japanese style. Complementary toiletries and slippers/gown.
Rooms quite spacious considering the comments other reviewers have made about hotel rooms in Tokyo being small...
Easy to find-just look up as well HUGE purple mercure on side of building.
Really excellent selection at breakfast. Tasted like "real" scrambled eggs!!
Downside wifi only in reception and breakfast. But I managed to hook into a ramdom one ?
We actually just walked from train station to the hotel- we were in no rush and arrived at commuter time so felt it was probably easier to meander along rather than sit in a taxi in traffic.
We also got up at 330am and went to the tuna auction. Again this was just a 15 minute walk and easy to find. Saw the first auction, then back for breakfast then bed again!!!!
I was delighted at choosing this hotel. It provided a very very comfortable base to explore Tokyo from, either on foot or by metro.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
営業部, 営業 at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose this hotel for our last night in Tokyo becuase of the location. The hotel is about $10 AUD from Tokyo station by taxi so very affordable. The hotel is within walking distance of all the glitz of the Ginza district main streets - so much to see, do and shopping is great. The staff are very focused on customer service and were able to help direct me to a particular store which I had to visit - being a non Japanese speaking person, this request turned out to be easier than I thougth. Very helpful staff. The breakfast was good and the room and bathroom both were a decent size. Our room didnt have a good view, but we were only there for 1 night and not focused on the view.

Room Tip: If staying for any length of time, I would request a room with some kind of view, rather than lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
営業部, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a superior twin room. The room was fairly spacious by Japanese standards and the beds are softer than most. The bathroom is also quite spacious, though a little dated, it was very clean. Because it's a French run hotel, it didn't have green tea or slippers like Japanese run hotels, but there was coffee and robes instead. Location is close to busy shopping area of Ginza but not so close that it's noisy, it's actually fairly quiet and we slept well. Very close to subways, the hotel is actually above a station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
営業部, Sales at Mercure Tokyo Ginza, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments on TripAdvisor.
I read carefully your comments and I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will be delighted to welcome you again, wishing you all the best.

Yumi Oda
Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Tokyo Ginza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Tokyo Ginza

Address: 2-9-4 Ginza, Chuo, Tokyo Prefecture 104-0061, Japan
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chuo
#5 Business Hotel in Chuo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
#8 Family Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Tokyo Ginza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Tokyo Ginza is located in the heart of the city’s most famous shopping and commercial districts, and offers a distinctive French flair and ambiance combined with state-of-the-art technology. The hotel is directly connected to exit 11 of the Ginza Itchome station on the Yurakucho (Y19) subway line. Close-by is Ginza station connected to the Marunouchi (M16), Ginza (G09), and Hibiya (H08) subway lines. Connections from Narita Airport can be made either by taking the limousine bus to Tokyo City Air Terminal (T-CAT) and then 10 minutes by taxi or JR Narita Express to Tokyo station and then 5 minutes by taxi. Guests flying into Haneda Airport should use the Keisei line to Higashi Ginza that is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Rakuten and Venere so you can book your Mercure Tokyo Ginza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ginza Tokyo
Mercure Hotel Chuo
Mercure Tokyo Ginza Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Tokyo Ginza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.