We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Tokyo..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ginza Creston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ginza Creston Hotel to your Saves list
Ginza Creston Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Akashicho, Chuo 104-0044, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Tokyo Shinhankyu Hotel Tsukiji) (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 81 Hotels / Ryokan in Chuo
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good value for Tokyo..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed two nights and were surprised at the generous size of our room which was in the corner on the 28th floor and so afforded us good views of both the city skyline and Tokyo tower in the distance. The room was clean, the bedding comfortable and we even had an electric massage chair in the room. Given the relative 'cheapness' of the room rate in comparison to elsewhere in Tokyo we thought it was a bargain. Whatsmore its location to the fish markets (less than 10 mins walk...but give them a swerve..see my review elsewhere) make it useful. You are a 15 min walk however from the nearest metro station wich some might consider a downside but we found it a pleasant enough walk each morning and used the time to eat at local cafes. There is a 7/11 in the base of the hotel as well as a few restaurants which are useful for dinner and lunch meals. As far as value for money goes we couldnt fault the hotel. Dont bother with reception though. They barely spoke English and of the 5 things we asked them to organise or do for us they threw back at us and we had to do ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    93
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
64
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Service and quality room are impecable. Excelent food and decent prices, Nara at the fornt desk will go beyond the line of duty to help you out. Locarion is marvelous and the view awesome. You even get a sofa with massage menu. Walking distance to the metro station and a Dennys for occidental food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The New Hankyu is located not far from Ginza, and close to the Tsukiji fish market. A walk to the Tsukiji subway station (Hibiya line) takes less than 10 min and from there you can go to e.g. Akihabara or Ginza. If you go to the Tsukiji station in the morning you will meet crowds of office workers, but quite few people going your way.
The reception staff speak English well or fairly well and the service is swift. Western-style or Chinese breakfast; both IMHO a little above average at this price level.
The room was normal in size for a European and very well kept. Climate control fully functional. The massage chair (in every room) seems a feature that several reviewers have liked; I never had the time to try it...
Huge TV and only japanese digital channels. A small button offers analog CNN and BBC, dubbed.
Finally - the view from the 32th-37th floor is really great and in all, this was one of the best hotel stays I have had on a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I have stayed in business hotels in several countries and this one of my favorites. Location is right across the river from Ginza, with a wonderful selection of restaraunts nearby. Staff training as with many Japanese is a delight, and they make it seem easy. The massage chairs, refrigerator, great shower, selection of breakfasts and quiet location make this a five star business hotel

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, Usa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The room was spacious with a sofa bed that fitted 1 person, also a massage chair which was a lot of fun. It seems in Japan there are 2 sizes of bed, King or Queen, which are basically the same size as a USA queen, and twins, which are the size of a USA full (can accommodate 2, and perfect for 2 kids, or an adult and kid, or 2 adults of regular size). The staff were very helpful and polite,as I found all Japanese to be, and the place very clean. Small fridge, tea/coffee, and amazing view of the river - probably one of the nicest views you could ask for in Tokyo. There's a McD, and 7/11 right next door, plus about 4 restaurants, as there are office workers in the adjoining building. There isn't really any other shops or restaurants immediately around the hotel. Personally we found the convenience stores like 7/11 and family mart throughout Japan great to get things for breakfast, or a bite for lunch. There was a restaurant in the hotel, but like most hotel restaurants it was more than we wanted to pay so we didn't visit it. The only thing that would prevent some people from wanting to stay here is it's convenience to the train or subway station. It is about 10-20mins walk to Tskiji station, probably the nearest - but in the morning the walk along the river side is pleasant, and you see so much by walking so it suited us fine. To walk to the Fish market was about 10 minutes, and that is a definite must to go and visit. Personally I'd stay there again, and enjoy being made to walk a little before getting on transport, as that's when you see more of the real city, other than the tourist spots. To find a hotel room to accommodate 4, like this one, is not easy to find.

Room Tip: If you're a family of 4, 2 adults and 2 kids, then the room with 2 twins would be better than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We were moving from Japan and we really chose this hotel for convenience for our last couple of nights in the country.

The room was an extremely decent size and the bed very comfortable. Even the bathroom was big - compared to most hotels in Japan. But the best bit - the massager chair. Putting that into a room is a priceless gesture of service. Best thing ever especially after a long day of moving and shipping stuff out.

We didn't use the restaurants and other facilities so can't comment on that. Stay here for the convenience and comfort.

Room Tip: We didn't get a room with a river side view although our rooms looked out onto almost the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Nice spacious room. Comfortable bed. Massage chair in room that really worked!!!! The lobby is on the main floor but the hotel is actually on about three floors above the restaurant, which can be accessed by a walk way between the two towers. I'm posting a picture of the hotel I took from an excursion boat on the river. Excellent views from the room. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ginza Creston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginza Creston Hotel

Address: 8 Akashicho, Chuo 104-0044, Tokyo Prefecture (Formerly Tokyo Shinhankyu Hotel Tsukiji)
Location: Japan > Kanto > Tokyo Prefecture > Tokyo > Chuo > Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chuo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ginza Creston Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Recruit Holdings Co Ltd (Inbound) so you can book your Ginza Creston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginza Creston Hotel Tokyo, Japan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginza Creston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.