We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushizanmai Honjin

Sushizanmai Honjin
4-4-3 Tsukiji, Chuo 104-0045, Tokyo Prefecture (Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi)
+81 3-5565-3636
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 5,230 Restaurants in Chuo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $3
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Ginza / Tokyo Nihonbashi
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I visit Sushizanmai Honjin because my family recommend and I was not disappointed. This is a very traditional Japanese restaurant and they are good at sashimi, they offer some fish that is hard to find in other Japanese Restaurants. The sushi chefs prepare everything from scratch right in front of you, grabbing the fish from a huge tank! You can order individual items, sushi plates and tempura. Definitely not a 5 star restaurant but good, quick and reasonably priced sushi. Great service and great location

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    16
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“fatty tuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had been looking for fatty tuna for 10 years now without success. Sushi Zanmai not only had fatty tuna they also had two different types and the fattier was almost white. Fantastic. I also tried 10 other types and they were all excellent. The beer was great too. I was there with a native speaker and everybody was incredibly chatty. The people next to us (we sat at the bar) poured our soy because you never do that yourself. The only thing I did not really like was their flamed stuff. They use a gas flame to broil fish and you can taste the gas. I believe because they hold the fish too close to the flame.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good I had it to have it before I return home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

It was the first breakfast in tokyo and the final breakfast in tokyo. At the end of the first breakfast in tokyo, I felt that my trip to Japan was worth it and if I went back home right now I would have no regrets. Now on to what I ate, I had the tuna sushi set. What blew me away were the the fatty tuna sushi and the broiled fatty tuna sushi! Sushi that melts in your mouth? They sure did. I felt like I was in heaven. Remember, the fatty tuna sushi and the broiled fatty tuna sushi are the most expensive items but go for it anyway you won't regret it.

Shaun

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wish I could go back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were hungry and wanted sushi, so we tried this restaurant out. What a great surprise. The restaurant was very clean, the staff very friendly, they were kidding with each other all around the customers, it felt like you were part of their conversation (even though you couln't understand a single thing). The food was excellent and very quickly served.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“excellent ... had for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

set deluxe and piece orders... sat at the counter... friendly and efficient staff... basically axross the street from the imperial hotel... sushi is good for breakfast.. never done it before . .. place is open 24/7... deasonable prices...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushizanmai Honjin also viewed

 

Been to Sushizanmai Honjin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushizanmai Honjin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.